Chocolate Molten Lava Cakes

IMG_4529

Happy New Year! I’m so sorry that I haven’t been posting in such a long time. The truth is, I’ve been catching up on a lot of reading (I finished the entire Mortal Instruments series in like 3 days, granted it’s only 5 books, but…you know), met up with a friend, got a wisdom tooth pulled (in Japan they only remove one tooth at a time. Getting a second one out in 2 days!), cleaned my room (Pat’s coming in 5 days and I can’t wait!) and finally just cuddling with my puppies and watching TV. While my mom wishes I did more stuff, i.e. cleaned the house and ironed clothes and whatnot (which I have done), I do enjoy just lazing about in bed. How’s everyone else’s New Year? I’m happy to report that my grandfather is doing quite well. He sneakily tries to build up his muscles by standing and shuffling his feet while rolling around in his wheelchair despite the nurses telling him not too. So that’s good.

Okay, enough with the catch up, I have a confession to make and then I swear I’ll get started on the chocolate molten lava cakes! I totally thought I posted an article about my peppermint crackles, but I didn’t so stay tuned for that!

I made the chocolate lava cakes on a spur of the moment kind of thing. My dad had some friends over and after dinner, I realized that there was no dessert and I knew I just HAD to remedy it. And within the hour, everyone had molten chocolate lava cake or as we call in in Japan Fondant Chocolat (which is also probably the french way of saying it too)

Ingredients:
-4 ounces chopped chocolate (I would use either semi or bitter sweet)
-1/2 cup unsalted butter
-2 large eggs
-2 egg yolks
-1/4 cup granulated sugar
-3 tbsp flour
Optional
-Raspberries
-Strawberries
-Powdered sugar
Whipped Cream:
-Heavy cream
-brown sugar
-vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 450 F or 230 C. Butter 6 cups of a cupcake tine or 4 4-oz ovenproof ramekins. Cover the butter with granulated sugar. Set aside.
  2. In a medium heat proof bowl, melt together the chocolate and the butter (they should be chopped to roughly the same size). You can microwave it by nuking it in 45 second increments, but I prefer a double boiler method. Take a slightly smaller sauce pan, add about an inch of water and bring to a simmer. Place the bowl on top of the sauce pan and let it melt
  3. Meanwhile, whisk together the eggs, egg yolks and sugar until pale and thick. You can achieve this with a electric mixer (medium for 8 minutes) or by hand. It’s not that bad by hand. I’ve done it twice.
  4. Pour in the melted chocolate and butter mixture and mix until combined. Add in the flour and mix until combined.
  5. Evenly distribute the batter evenly among the ramekins or the cupcake cups. If using ramekins, bake for 14 minutes or until the center is still jiggly, but there is a thin crust all around. For the cupcake cups, bake for 7 minutes. Don’t worry, it’s way better to underbake them than to overbake them!
  6. While the cakes are baking, make your whipped cream. Beat the heavy cream, sugar and vanilla until desired consistency is reached.
  7. Carefully invert the ramekins on plates and let the cake slide out. It may help to tap the bottoms gently. If using a cupcake pan, simply place a cutting board over the pan and flip. You may need help.
  8. Plate your cakes and garnish as desired!

IMG_4531

Everyone loved these and I loved plating them!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

P.S the recipe is from the Luscious Chocolate Desserts cookbook

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Molten Lava Cakes

  1. Mimi-chan, 明けましておめでとうございます。本年もよろしくお願いいたします。
    How lovely to spend your New Year with your family.
    Glad to hear your Grandpa is doing well.
    This chocolate molten lava cake/fondant chocolat is a~ma~zing!!!
    I can see how pleased your Dad’s guests were. I shall give it a try one of these days!

    • Hi Fae!
      明けましておめでとうございます。今年もよろしくお願いします。
      It was wonderful and I loved it :) We’re all very glad that my grandfather is doing well. He’s still in the hospital, but he will be discharged soon (we hope). In the meantime, we have to make sure his house is accommodating for him (hospital bed, handrails, etc.)
      The molten lava cake was delicious! Please let me know when you try it :)

Leave a Reply

