Easy Fruit Tarts

 

DSC_0711I don’t know about you guys, but I always need a pick-me-up on mondays and what better way to face the week than with these easy fruit pies? All you need are two ingredients, fruit and puff pastry. Of course you can make your own puff pastry, but there’s nothing wrong with buy store bought. I mean let’s be honest, making puff pastry sounds super hard and I swear I won’t tell if you don’t. It can be our little secret ;) i’ve been dying to try these ever since I saw Ina Garten made them on one of her episodes that I saw way back when…or maybe it was the Pioneer Woman? Or maybe both? Anyway, they also appeared in my bon appetit magazine and they seemed super easy and with the summer heat, no one wants to slave away in the kitchen. So I thought they would be perfect for a quick dessert after a day at the office. I literally made these in 20 minutes and I think these would be great to make for parties. Or for dessert whenever you want, because it only requires two ingredients. I mean hey, as a foodie thats always looking for something to fix that rumbling in her tummy, there is no judgment here. We have a word that describes people like that in Japanese. 口が寂しい (kuchi ga samishii) it roughly translates into “a lonely mouth” and I suffer greatly from a lonely mouth. My mouth is always looking for a friend, but they always seem to go and hang out in my stomach, leaving my mouth behind.

omnomnom

omnomnom

Okay, enough rambling about the fact that I’m just hungry 24/7. Today, I used white nectarines (they’re Pat’s favorite) and sprinkled the edges with granulated sugar. After I pulled them out of the oven, I sifted some powdered sugar on top.  These would probably be great topped with ice cream or homemade whipped cream.  These are super customizable, you can make them any size you wish as well as use any fruit you like. I’d love to try them with raspberries or peaches, apricots or blackberries? Though it’s probably best to use stone fruit. Before I get lost in a vision of fruit tarts let’s get started shall we?

Ingredients:

-puff pastry
-fruit of choice (peaches, apricots, raspberries, blackberries, etc)
 

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 °F
  2. Cut puff pastry in square (about 4 inches by 6 inches for individual tarts)
  3. Prick the center of the square, leaving a border.
  4. Cover the pricked area with fruits (sliced or diced)
  5. Bake for 13 to 15 minutes or until the puff pastry is a golden brown.
  6. Shift some powdered sugar on top and garnish as you wish!

It’s probably the easiest dessert you will ever make and it will probably impress your friends! It’s definitely the perfect summer treat since stone fruit is in season and you don’t have to have your oven on too long. However if you don’t want to use an oven at all, you can always make an icebox cake! Now excuse me while I go make myself another tart….

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

2 thoughts on “Easy Fruit Tarts

Leave a Reply

