The Pasta Series Part 3: Spinach Pesto and Gnocchi

DSC_4594

The Pasta Series Part 3: Spinach Pesto and Gnocchi

So I bought a new cuisinart emulsifer. It’s like this hand held blender and it’s really great for making soups. You just stick in a pot of of soup, press the button and watch it turn from a chunky soup to a nice creamy soup. You can also make amazing smoothies and such (but that’s another post). Since I was kind of dying to try my new toy out, Pat and I decided to make a pesto sauce to go with our gnocchi. Unfortunately, my basil is still quite young and there weren’t enough leaves to make an entire pesto. So we decided to make a spinach pesto from the bag of spinach I bought earlier. I used a pesto recipe from one of my cooking classes, but I kind of just went with it after looking at the ingredients. The pesto came out a beautiful vivid green (albeit it does kind of look like slime). However despite the appearance, it tasted really good and it went really well with the gnocchi. One day I’ll attempt to make gnocchi from scratch (I heard it isn’t too hard). Anyway, let’s get started on the pesto (you can also use a blender or food processor if you have one. I would recommend a food processor, I just don’t have one)!

Spinach Pesto

Ingredients:

-2 cups of roughly chopped spinach
-1 or 2 cloves of garlic
-1/4 cup of pine nuts
-3 tablespoons of olive oil
-Salt and Pepper to taste
-Parmesan cheese
-Gnocchi
 

Directions

  1. Place spinach, pine nuts, garlic, and olive oil in a food processor or the blender cup of a hand blender. Pulse until it becomes a paste (about 1 to 2 minutes). Add salt, pepper and parmesan cheese to taste. Set aside.
  2. Boil water and add the gnocchi. Cook the gnocchi until it rises to the top. Drain and divide into bowls. Top with your pesto and garnish with more parmesan cheese.

You can always play around with this recipe by using basil instead of spinach (for the real pesto) or you could add a protein like pieces of grilled chicken or some shrimp. This is a really great dish to experiment with🙂

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

