Chocolate Chip Scones

IMG_6219
So I’ve been a bit busy with my internship, baby sitting, and finally de-stressing from finals. I’m happy to say I did pretty well in all of them, okay 3 out of 4, the 4th one is still being graded. Basically, it’s summer and it’s looking to be a great one. I have summer classes, but it’s a Food studies course so it should be fun. Anyway this morning, I decided to make scones so I would have breakfast during the week and I just felt like baking. I found the recipe in my biscuits book and I added the chocolate chips. Let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-270 g AP flour*
-1 tbsp baking powder
-a pinch of salt
-50g granulated sugar* (I substituted it with brown sugar)
-110g unsalted butter*
-150 ml milk
-Chocolate chips (I used semisweet)

*If you don’t have a scale, it’s about a stick plus one tablespoon of butter, about 1/4 cup of sugar and about 1 1/2 cups of AP flour.

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven at 190 C (380 F)
  2. Combine the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar in a medium sized bowl. Grate the butter with a cheese grater and add it to the dry ingredients.
    Mix the butter and the dry ingredients with a pastry cutter. Add in the chocolate chips and mix with a large fork.
  3. Add in the milk and mix. Once the milk is incorporated, generously flour a cutting board (counter top, any sort of work surface). Pat the dough into a large circle and cut the dough into 6 or 8 slices (triangles)
  4. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or spray with Pam. I had neither, so I ended up just greasing the baking sheet with butter. Evenly space the cut dough on the baking sheet. You can shape it into more scone-like shapes as you do this.
  5. Bake in the oven for 13 to 15 minutes. Let the scones cool

These were super simple to make and took less than an hour. Word of advice: before you grate the butter, it might be a better idea to put the butter in the freezer so it doesn’t melt in your hand as you grate it.

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Scones

Leave a Reply

