Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

Before I begin I just want to apologize for not updating in a while. I’ve been sort of sick/busy and I haven’t had the time to bake anything. But yesterday I was being really productive and basically finished all my homework, so I decided to reward myself and make something. Since I was craving milk (or malk :p) and cookies, Pat and I decided to make chocolate chip cookies. I got the recipe from my Williams-Sonoma Kids cookbook, focusing on cookies. I promise I’ll bake more often, I’ve just been a bit busy. But I digress, let’s make cookies😀

Ingredients:

-1 cup plus 2 tbsp AP flour
-1/2 tsp baking soda
-1/4 tsp salt
-1/2 cup unsalted butter (softened)
-1/3 cup granulated sugar
-1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
-1 egg
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
 

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (178 C) and grease your baking sheet. Mix together the flour, baking soda, and salt in a medium mixing bowl and set aside. Combine the butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar in a large mixing bowl. Add in the egg and vanilla, beating until the mixture is smooth and creamy. Gradually add in the flour mixture and beat until well blended. Fold in the chocolate chips (tip: lightly coat the chocolate chips in flour to keep them from sinking to the bottom of the dough.)
  2. Drop spoonfuls of dough evenly spaced on to the baking sheet
  3. Bake the cookies for about 11 to 15 minutes (or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean). Let the cookies cool for a few minutes and serve with a glass of milk.

Personally I like my cookies thin and crisp so if you’re like me and prefer your cookies that way, I suggest that you replace the brown sugar with granulated sugar. Brown sugar retains the moisture and keeps your cookies nice and soft. I would also use greased baking sheet so that your cookies spread out more and get thinner. Also if you really want them to be crisp, use a mixture of bread flour and AP flour. The high protein in the flours will result in a nice crispy, thin cookie. On the other hand, if you like your cookies to be soft and moist, use more brown sugar instead of granulated sugar. You could also even use a dark brown sugar instead of light brown. Use parchment paper to hinder the spread of your cookies and use pastry flour for a more tender dough.

Hugs and Puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

