Apple Muffins

When I was back in Tokyo, complete with a well stocked kitchen, some more cookbooks, and a lot of free time on my hands. What was I going to do? Bake of course🙂
My dad got a box (a crate?) of apples and since we had a lot I had decided that I would make apple muffins. I got the recipe from my old Williams-Sonoma Kids Cookbook. I used a few substitutions and added some things. I guess you could say I was in an experimental mood. The original recipe called for a cup of rolled oats, but since I didn’t have oats, I just substituted it with another cup of AP flour. I was worried that my muffins would be way too runny because oats would’ve absorbed the buttermilk and I didn’t alter the measurements for the buttermilk. Luckily, my muffins came out delicious and absolutely solid. Then, I used almond oil instead of vegetable oil and added ground cloves and nutmeg. However I don’t think these really altered the taste (maybe I didn’t add enough cloves or nutmeg to make a difference?). The almond oil made the batter smell really good and at first I was afraid that it would overpower the apples, but I worried over nothing. These muffins weren’t that sweet and my family loved them.

Ingredients:

-1 cup buttermilk (or milk with lemon juice)
-1 apple (chopped)
-1/3 cup brown sugar (firmly packed)
-1 egg
-1/3 cup almond oil
-2 cups AP flour
-1 teaspoon baking powder
-1/2 teaspoon salt
-1/2 teaspoon baking soda
-1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
-2 tablespoons granulated sugar
-a pinch of cloves and nutmeg
 

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 C or about 200 F. Grease the muffin pan(s) with either nonstick spray, butter or shortening.
  2. Peel and cut the apple into small pieces. Place in the fridge so that they don’t go brown. Mix together 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar in a small bowl and set aside.
  3. Mix together flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, baking soda, and spices. Then add in the egg, oil, and buttermilk, mixing until the dry ingredients are moistened and mixed in. Fold in the chopped apple.
  4. Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin cups, filling each cup about two thirds full. Take the sugar and cinnamon mixture and sprinkle it over the tops of the batter in the muffin cups.
  5. Bake the muffins for about 20 to 25 minutes. The tops should be a light golden brown and an inserted toothpick should come out clean (without any batter sticking to it).
  6. The recipe says to cool the muffins for 10 minutes, but I personally think that eating the muffins while they’re still hot and fresh is much better. Either way, these muffins are delicious. You can top them with whipped cream, butter or honey if you want.

I think, once I can start baking again, I’ll try this recipe with rolled oats and see how that differs. I think I might think of incorporating another fruit or use a different type of flour. We’ll see🙂

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

