Green Tea Cupcakes

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 8.32.49 AM

I absolutely love tea (maybe it’s the Japanese in me?) and I think they can add such depth into a baked good. My grandmother is a Japanese tea ceremony teacher and my mother has been learning as well. My grandma attempted to teach me, but I could never sit still for long. I kind of regret this, because let’s be honest, knowing how to make matcha (green tea) is amazing and it’s part of my culture. Anyway, the first I made these cupcakes were for my friend’s birthday. He apparently loves everything green tea, so I decided to make him green tea cupcakes. I mean who doesn’t like cupcakes? When I made them, I just added matcha into a classic yellow cupcake recipe. Everyone loved them and two of my friends apparently couldn’t stop thinking about them. One still talks to me about them! They were moist and the flavor wasn’t too overpowering. Although the batter was a beautiful pale green, after I pulled them out of the oven they were more of a golden color.  I then topped it off with a buttercream frosting. Originally I wanted green tea buttercream as well, but I thought that might be overpowering and I’m actually kind of glad I didn’t. Goodness I’m getting distracted! Anyway, I thought I would try them again today, since I had gotten a cake  box that holds 1 9-inch cake or a 18 cupcakes! It’s absolutely gorgeous and I love it. If you would like to purchase one yourself, I got mine at Provisions52 and if you click this link, it’s a referral link that will give you $20 to spend :) When I made these cupcakes again, I loosely covered the pan with aluminum foil and the cupcakes retained their beautiful green color.


Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 2.10.38 PM

Isn’t it gorgeous? Anyway, I decided to make the cupcakes again and tweaked the recipe a bit.

Ingredients:

-1/2 cup butter (1 stick)
-1 egg
-1 tbsp matcha powder
-1 cup AP flour
-1/2 tsp baking soda
-1/2 tsp baking powder
-1/4 tsp salt
-1/4 cup sugar
-1 tsp vanilla
-1/2 cup milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Line a cupcake tin with paper liners and set aside.
  3. Allow butter and eggs to stand at room temperature. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and matcha powder and set aside.
  4. In a large mixing bowl beat butter and sugar until it’s smooth and fluffy.  Add egg one and beat well. Beat in vanilla. Alternatively add flour and milk mixture, beating between each addition.
  5. Once everything is fully incorporated, spoon the batter into , filling each about half-way to two-thirds of the way full. Loosely cover the pan with aluminum foil, so that when the cupcakes bake they will retain their beautiful pale green color. You want this loose because you don’t want the batter to stick to the foil as it bakes.
  6. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let the cupcakes cool for 5 minutes before removing them from the cupcake pans. While they cool, make the buttercream.

Buttercream

Ingredients:

-6 tablespoons butter
-milk
-powdered sugar

Directions:

  1. Mix the butter until it’s creamy and smooth. Gradually add in small amounts of powdered sugar (I don’t like overly tooth-fall-out sweet, so don’t go overboard).
  2. Once the powdered sugar and butter are blended, add the milk to thin the frosting to your desired consistency.

Frost your cupcakes and don’t forget to share🙂

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

2 thoughts on “Green Tea Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon Roll Cupcakes « Les Saveurs De Mimi

  2. Pingback: Nightmare Before Christmas Cupcakes | Les Saveurs De Mimi

Leave a Reply

