Sautéed Chicken

So last night was day 3 of the slow carb diet and it wasn’t too shabby. True, dinner last night was a pretty late affair (Pat was working late) and by the time we sat down to eat it was around 10 pm. Granted I should have started cooking earlier, but I’m not a huge fan of eating alone. So last night we made this:

Ahaha I know it’s not much to look at and it was the easiest thing to make. It’s just marinated chicken breasts with some black beans. I had also marinated the chicken breasts overnight, which was a bit of a mistake. The chicken breasts were over seasoned and a tad too salty. Technically, I work with half chickens or whole chickens (I marinate those for at least 8 hours and then roast them), but I suppose half chickens are not the same as chicken breasts. This seems like such a obvious and silly observation, but we can’t all be perfect. If I had full use of my right hand and more time, I definitely would have added more veggies, but I guess that’ll have to wait until the next time I make this.

Ingredients:

-4 chicken breasts
-1 can black beans
-1/2 red onion
-1 clove garlic
-1 tbspn butter
Marinade:
-1 tspn thyme
-1 tspn oregano
-1/2 cup olive oil
-1/2 cup soy sauce
-1 tspn each salt and pepper
-about 1/3 cup of chicken broth

Directions:

  1. In a large ziplock bag, mix together the marinade.  Salt and pepper the chicken breasts and leave in the marinade for at least 8 hours (okay so I was a little skeptical, so I looked it up on foodgawker and came upon this recipe that said 8 to 48 hours…maybe I just used too much salt?)
  2. Heat a large skillet with butter and minced garlic. Add the chicken and cook until the breast reaches a temperature of 165 degrees. This should take about 6 minutes on each side.
  3. Once the chicken is done, you’re going to make a pan sauce with the juices left in the pan. Add the chopped onions and cook until they are translucent. Add the chicken broth to deglaze the pan. Now if you aren’t on the slow carb diet, add in one tablespoon of flour to thicken the sauce. Bring the contents of the pan to a boil and a simmer. Pour it over the chicken.
  4. Prepare the beans according to the can or box. If you have dried beans, you can either soak them in water overnight or simmer them for 1 hour and soak them in the warm water (take the pan off the heat) for another hour.

And that’s it. It’s really simple and I suggest you add in some vegetables like steamed broccoli, asparagus or some tomatoes.

Well as we say in Japan: いただきます!🙂

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

p.s Did I mention tomorrow is cheat day? I’m so excited! I’ll be making chocolate truffles and a frozen mocha pie, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

