Blueberry Streusel Muffins

I took this photo in my food photography class today and I’m actually really proud of it. True the muffins aren’t really the main subject in this photo, but it’s still pretty cool. I made these muffins a few weeks ago in my Food Studies class (not these exact ones, but I got the recipe for them) and it was this recipe that I was attempting recreate when I lacerated my poor finger (as you can see from the crumble on top, I managed to execute this recipe without a hitch during class). I was attempting to make the crumble with an emulsifier because I didn’t have a food processor. Despite the hidden dangers of making these muffins (I’m kidding, as long as you unplug any and all nearby whirling blades you will be 100% safe), they are absolutely delicious. I made them in class and I made them again to take as a gift when I stayed with some family friends in Connecticut during the Fourth of July. I used both blueberries and raspberries for that batch in attempts of being patriotic (the raspberries= red, blueberries=blue and the muffin part =white). It would have been amazing if I managed to complete the crumble for them, but sometimes fate likes to intervene.

Well don’t let the fact that I hurt myself while making these muffins deter you from making them yourself!

Ingredients:

Muffin:
-1 1/2 cups AP flour
-3/4 cups white sugar (granulated)
-1/2 tspn salt
-2 tspn baking powder
-1/3 cup vegetable oil
-1 egg
-1/3 cup milk
-1 cup blueberries (fresh)
Streusel:
-1/3 cup AP flour
-1/2 cup white sugar (granulated)
-1/4 cup cold butter (cubed)
-1 1/2 tspn ground cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Line a muffin pan with muffin liners. In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, sugar, salt and baking powder. Mix until well combined. In a separate bowl, mix the vegetable oil, egg and milk. Mix until well combined.
  2. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, scraping out the bowl with a rubber spatula. Mix until no dry pockets remain. However don’t over mix! Over mixing will cause your muffins to come out dry and tough. You should have small lumps in your batter.
  3. Toss the blueberries in a little bit of flour (to prevent them from sinking to the bottom of the batter) and fold them gently in the batter. Ladle the batter into the muffin cups until they are about 3/4 full. You want to leave some room for the crumble.
  4. In a small food processor (or use a fork or a pastry cutter if you don’t have one, not an emulsifier!) pulse together flour, sugar, butter and cinnamon until it forms a lumpy mass. It should have the consistency of wet sand.
  5. Sprinkle the streusel over the muffins and bake for 20 to 25 minutes. To check if your muffins are done, insert a toothpick into the center. If it comes out clean your muffins are ready. If not, give it another five minutes or so.

Both types of muffins (with or without crumble) are delicious and it’s super easy to substitute other berries for the blueberries. I imagine you could also use cherries, blackberries, or maybe even small pieces of peaches or apricots (hmm note to self: make fruity muffins).

Hugs and puppies!

One thought on “Blueberry Streusel Muffins

  1. Pingback: Garlic Shrimp « Les Saveurs De Mimi

Leave a Reply

