Sweet Italian Sausage and Peppers

So today was one of those days where nothing really goes quite right. Work was fine though, I built a wheel barrow and everything. I left my keys at home and so I had to go home before babysitting. While babysitting, Z made me read until my voice was hoarse and then she kept accidentally bumping my finger (the one with the large cut and big bandaid). And then I left the darn keys at their house and didn’t realize until I was almost at the  train stop. I went back to her house and no one answered the door despite the fact that I had only left 10 minutes earlier, so I left and then I found out no one answered because they were playing hide and seek. Then I had to make dinner with my left hand (let me tell you, cutting things was a tad hard, so I used my right hand and it was still pretty hard because I wasn’t allowed to use my forefinger), but it was still pretty therapeutic. I just like how nothing can go wrong with cooking as long as you put it together right (I feel like that’s a Julie and Julia quote, it probably is). Nothing really went wrong except for the forgetting keys, but it just felt that way. Perhaps it’s the hormones? That was probably a bit of an over share. All in all it was just one of those horrible, awful, no-good, rotten days. It was basically one of those days where you just need a big bowl of ice cream or a piece of chocolate or a cookie to make everything seem alright. So please forgive me, I broke a rule for the Slow Carb Diet and ate some cookies and watched Charmed. But I stuck to it for dinner! See:

Yes the photo kind of sucks, but what could I do? Pat was out with his friend and I couldn’t ask him to come home just so he could take a photo. Basically what you’re looking at is some sautéed green peppers and onions and some panfried sausages cut into pieces. The sausages are sweet Italian and I got them at Whole Foods (did I mention my love for that grocery store? Yes I’ve heard it’s overpriced, but I still like it). It’s a pretty simple dish and it only took 10 to 15 minutes to assemble. I’m sure it can work as a side dish as well as a main dish. So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-4 sweet italian sausages (or you favorite sausage)
-1 yellow onion
-1 green bell pepper
-1 clove garlic
-olive oil
-salt, pepper and a dash of soy sauce to taste

Directions:

  1. Slice the bell pepper and the onion. Coat the pan with olive oil and add in the garlic. Once the garlic starts to cook, add in the onions. Salt and pepper the onions and sauté them until they’re translucent. Cut the sausage into pieces and add to the pan. You can cook them in a separate pan (pan fry? pan grill?), I just thought the onions would get more flavor that way.
  2. Once the sausages start to brown, add in the bell pepper. Once everything is cooked, add a dash of soy sauce and mix.
And you’re done. I told you this was a quick dinner. Now if you wanted, you could definitely add more vegetables and spices. I figure maybe celery and carrots would be good, or asparagus. As for spices you could use paprika or chili flakes to add a little heat. You could also substitute the olive oil with butter if you wanted, to get a sense of richness. I thought maybe this dish would be great with rice (I know this combo is really great with pasta) or some bread with cheese and perhaps some french onion soup? Ahaha I’ll have to keep you posted if I try and make a full meal out of this.
Hugs and puppies!
Mimi

Leave a Reply

