Pumpkin Bites

Okay so technically these baked goods are probably better suited for the fall months like October or November, but my mom is in the city for a musical workshop thing (she flew in on saturday) and she really loves my pumpkin bites. Well I got the recipe from a cookbook so they aren’t my pumpkin bites, but they’re still very delicious. I’m super excited because well she lives in Tokyo and I haven’t seen her since Spring Break. She’s here until the 22nd and I’m so excited to spend time with her. I decided that since today was her last day at the Broadway workshop I would surprise her with a batch of pumpkin bites. I’ve made this recipe a lot of times, especially for Quidditch events (yes I’m a Potter head and I play Quidditch). The Quidditch players really love them and I find that the pumpkin bites really fit in (seeing as there is a lot of pumpkin dishes in Harry Potter like the pumpkin juice, pumpkin pasties, etc.). I also made these in cupcake form for our NYU Relay for Life event and they sold out pretty well. In other words, if you like pumpkin this recipe is perfect. So enough of me babbling about the pumpkin bites of the past, let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-1 cup all-purpose flour
-3/4 cup granulated sugar
-1 teaspoon baking powder
-1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
-1/2 teaspoon allspice
-1/4 teaspoon salt
-1 cup pumpkin puree
-2 eggs
-1/2 cup vegetable oil
– a dash nutmeg and cloves
Cream Cheese Frosting:
– 3 ounces cream cheese
-2 cups powdered sugar
– vanilla extract (about 1 teaspoon)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven at 350 degrees Fahrenheit and grease your baking pan (it calls for a 9-inch square pan but I used a round pan and it worked fine)
  2. Mix together the flour, baking powder, sugar, salt, and spices in a large mixing bowl. Add the pumpkin, oil and eggs. Mix until well combined. Give it a taste and see if you want to add more spices.
  3. Pour the mixture into the oiled pan. Make sure to use a rubber spatula to scrape the mixture in and to spread it evenly inside the pan.
  4. Place the pan in the oven and bake the bars for about 18 to 25 minutes or until a toothpick stuck in the center comes out clean.
  5. While it cools, make the icing by combining the cream cheese, powdered sugar and vanilla extract in a medium bowl. Mix until it is smooth and creamy. If necessary, add milk or cream to make the icing spreadable (I just added a few more drops of vanilla extract)
  6. Spread the icing over the pumpkin and cut them into squares or triangles. I just cut them into tiny bite sized squares.

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Bites

  1. Pingback: Lemon Bars « Les Saveurs De Mimi

    • Thanks😀 These are amazing! If you ever get the chance to make them you should! They’re a great alternative to pumpkin pie, if for some reason you don’t like pumpkin pie :p

Leave a Reply

