Garlic Shrimp

It’s the final day of the slow carb diet! Granted I may have cheated a day or two, but my mom’s in town and I can’t really say “I’m sorry mommy I can’t go to Eataly with you because I can’t eat carbs.” I haven’t seen her since Spring Break and even then I was sick with strep throat so technically I haven’t spent any time with her since Winter break (which was January). Okay, now that I’ve confessed I will say that despite it all I have been a very good girl and I have survived the two weeks. Granted I didn’t write too many posts (sometimes Pat and I went out to eat and other times I went out with my mom to eat and some other times I just skipped meals, by simply forgetting to eat). Anyway, I’m sure I told you this but I’ll say it again: this diet is pretty hard to accomplish unless you plan and make all your meals (or if you don’t mind eating mexican sans tortillas and rice for 5 days straight). Anyway, for our last dinner I made some pretty good stuff: Garlic Shrimp and sun-dried tomato and garlic infused veggies. I didn’t have a recipe for these, but I’m pretty sure that my mom made a similar dish to the veggies and I was trying to recreate that. She didn’t have a recipe though and I’m sure hers was a lot more garlicky.

Doesn’t that look good? I took the photo today (usually Pat takes all the photos) because today was also my last day for my food photography class! I made blueberry muffins (you can find the recipe here) and we took a photo of those too! It was actually really fun and I learned quite a lot. I’ll probably attempt to take more photos in the future, but Pat will still be the better photographer🙂

Well let’s get started!

Ingredients:

Shrimp:
-1 lb of shrimp (peeled and deveined)
-paprika
-salt and pepper
-4 tbspn butter (unsalted)
-1 or 2 cloves of garlic
Veggies:
-1 or 2 clove garlic
-5 to 6 slices of bacon
-10 stalks of asparagus
-1 bag of broccoli
-5 sun dried tomatoes
-salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. If you have shrimp that hasn’t been peeled and deveined, peel and devein your shrimp. Rinse them with cold water and pat dry. In a large bowl, toss together the shrimp with the paprika, salt and pepper. Set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, steam the broccoli in the steamer until it is tender but still firm. Cut or break off the woody sections of the asparagus stalk and cut the asparagus into small bite sized pieces. I just cut the stalks in to  three sections. Take the broccoli out of the steamer and set aside. Steam the asparagus until it is still firm, but slightly cooked.
  3. Mince the garlic (I used three cloves) and set aside. Slice the sun dried tomatoes in small slivers and set aside. Cut up the bacon into small pieces and cook in a large pan. Once the bacon is browned and slightly crispy, add half of the garlic and the sun dried tomatoes. Once the garlic starts to perfume the pan, add in the broccoli and the asparagus. Cook until the veggies are fork tender (about 5 minutes or less).
  4. Melt the butter in another large pan. Once the butter is all melted, add the rest of the minced garlic. Since you have a pound of shrimp and you don’t want to overcrowd the pan, I suggest you cook the shrimp in batches. My pan was pretty big, so I could cook the shrimp in 2 batches. Cook the shrimp until they become pink (about 2 to 3 minutes on each side, you don’t want to overcook them). Remove the shrimp from the pan and add the next batch. Repeat until all the shrimp are cooked.

Once again, this was a pretty easy dish. Now if I weren’t on the slow carb diet, I would have had some bread on the side. It might also be fun to, instead of pan fry the shrimp, to skewer them and cook them on a grill. You could have some melted butter on the side for dipping. If you are going to skewer them, don’t forget to soak the skewers (if they’re wooden) for at least 10 minutes so that they don’t catch on fire. You could also substitute the shrimp with scallops or fish if you aren’t a huge fan of shrimp or with chicken if you are allergic to shellfish.

Pat took this photo🙂

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

2 thoughts on “Garlic Shrimp

Leave a Reply

