Ice Cream Pie

It’s summer and nothing says summer like ice cream. I don’t think I’ve ever had a summer where I didn’t have an icy treat to cool me down. Well a few months ago, I came across this amazing website called Handle the Heat. It’s about a college student turned culinary student, Tessa, and let me tell you she has AMAZING recipes. This was only one of them. You can find her recipe for Frozen Mocha Pie (which is what I used) here.

So ever since I stumbled upon this recipe, I book-marked it and was anxiously waiting for the perfect chance to make it. I’ve made it three times so far (once in the fall, once for dinner with friends and now today, cheat day. I mean why wouldn’t I want to try a recipe that combines chocolate, coffee ice cream and cookies into an pie? That seems like a recipe made in heaven. Today seemed like a good day to make the frozen pie, I mean it was hot and sunny, the perfect day for some ice cream. I had made it with coffee ice cream before, so to change it up I decided to use Vanilla Swiss Almond (vanilla with chocolate covered almonds mixed in).

Taste-wise this pie was amazing (Although I do admit it was a bit on the heavy side)! The chocolate chip cookies made an amazing buttery crust that complimented the ice cream perfectly with it’s slightly crunchy texture. The chocolate ganache on top gave it a nice chocolate-y kick without stealing the show from the ice cream. Overall it was a huge success and I think my suite mates, friends and boyfriend enjoyed it immensely. Will I make it again? I will definitely make it again. I mean it’s simple to make, didn’t take much time, and I already have a few new combinations that I want to try.

So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

Crust:
-30 chocolate chip cookies
-4 tablespoons of butter
Filling:
-A pint of you favorite ice cream (I used haagen daz Swiss Vanilla Almond. You may not use all of it depending on the size of your pan. I recommend a 9 inch spring form pan.)
Ganache:
-Chocolate chips (I would go for bittersweet, but then again, it’s totally up to you)
-Heavy cream

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. I don’t have a food processor, so I put the cookies in an airtight ziploc bag and crushed them by hand (with a rolling pin). Place in a large bowl and add in the melted butter. It should have the consistency of wet sand.
  2. Pour crumb mixture into a 9-inch spring-form pan and, using a cup or your hands, press the mixture into the bottom and up the sides of the pan. Bake 10 minutes then set on a cooling rack. Let cool completely.
  3. Once crust is cool, place in the freezer for 30 minutes to chill. Take ice cream out of the freezer and place in fridge for 30 minutes to soften.
  4.  remove coffee ice cream from the fridge and transfer to a large mixing bowl. With a wooden spoon or a spatula, stir the ice cream so that it is spreadable (but not liquid-y). Quickly spread the ice cream into the chilled crust in an even layer. Place the pan back into the freezer until the ice cream is solid.
  5. Meanwhile make the ganache: place chocolate in a medium heatproof bowl and add in the heavy cream. Either melt it in the microwave or place it over a pot of simmering water (double boiler style). If you are using a microwave, make sure you stir every 15 to 20 seconds and don’t let your chocolate burn.
  6. Pour the warm ganache over the ice cream and tilt pan to cover evenly. Transfer pie to a flat surface in the freezer and chill for at least 3 hours.

In my opinion, this is by far the best dessert for summer and it’s really simple to make! It’s also really easy to cater it to your own tastes. You could use any sort of cookie for the crust (sugar cookies, chocolate wafers, chocolate chip, peanut butter) and you can use any type of ice cream (vanilla, strawberry, chocolate, coffee). If you aren’t a fan of chocolate, like my room mate, you can use sugar cookies and coffee ice cream. So don’t let the recipe limit you, feel free to experiment (I have and it was fun!).

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

