Handheld Pies

Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 8.43.36 AM

I think this recipe is for all those pie addicts out there. I mean it’s a pie that fits in your hand and you can fill it with whatever your little heart desires! I, personally, adore pie. There’s something about that flaky crust and the sweet filling that makes me want more. These little hand held pies are perfect if you love pie. They let you eat your favorite pie on the go without getting too messy and the best part is that you don’t have to share. On tumblr, I saw a bunch of posts about nutella handheld pies or little handheld pies with marshmallows and chocolate so I decided to make a few of my own. I mean why not right? It’s a pretty simple recipe and it only takes a few minutes. I found a couple of similar recipes online, but I didn’t really use it. I did however find a basic pie dough recipe here.Unfortunately it didn’t yield as flaky a crust as I would have liked, but that might have been because I didn’t use ice cold butter and I was rolling it out multiple times. I’m sure if you made an actual pie you would get a better crust because you wouldn’t be handling it as much and there would be lumps of butter to steam and create the flaky layers. Anyway, since I couldn’t decide what fillings I wanted, I went ahead and made multiple. Pat and I basically ransacked the kitchen, coming up with possibly delicious combinations. We had: peach jam filling, dark chocolate filling, nutella, nutella and marshmallows, nutella and almonds, dark chocolate and almonds, and dark chocolate with raspberry jam. Yeah that sounds like a lot, but actually all we  did was make one or two of each. Next time I’ll stick to one combination (that way I don’t forget which ones which). The crust is your basic 1-2-3 pie dough (1 part water, 2 parts butter, 3 parts flour), nothing too complicated and super easy to whip together.

So let’s get started!

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 11.08.07 PM

Ingredients:

Pie crust:
-1 1/4 cups AP flour (it might also help make the crust flaky if you used pastry flour)
-1/4 tspn salt
-1 stick unsalted butter (ice cold)
-3 tbpsn cold water
Filling:
-Nutella
-Dark chocolate spread
-Raspberry jam
-Peach jam
-Almonds
-Marshmallows
Eggwash:
-Egg
-Milk
-granulated sugar

Directions:

  1. Prepare the crust. Mix together the salt and the flour. Add in the cold  butter in small pieces (about 1/4 inch pieces). Take a pastry cutter or two knives and cut the butter into the dough until they are about the size of peas. Scoop up the flour and butter and rub it through your fingers until the contents of the bowl resembles coarse cornmeal. Add in the water and mix until the dough just pulls together. You can either wrap the dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate it until you use it or use it right away. You can keep the dough in your fridge for up to 3 days. I refrigerate mine for about 30 minutes.
  2. While the dough is chilling, prepare your fillings and make an egg wash. In a small bowl, crack an egg and add a little bit of milk. Blend it together with a fork until well combined. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.
  3. Lightly dust your work surface with flour. Pat your dough into a rectangular shape. Using a rolling pin, poll out your pie dough until it is about 1/4 inch thick. Cut them into squares.
  4. Fill half of each square with a small amount of filling. Brush the edges with the egg wash and fold the pie dough so that the side without the filling covers the side with the filling. Press the edges closed and seal it closed with a fork. Cut a slit into the center so that the steam can escape. Brush the top with more egg wash and sprinkle with the granulated sugar. Place on the prepared baking sheet.
  5. Repeat until there is no pie dough left. Place the baking sheet in the oven for about 20 to 25 minutes or until the tops are a nice golden brown (you might have to add a few minutes)
  6. Once they’re done, let the pies cool on a wire rack and enjoy!

 

These are very easy to make and easy to personalize. If you like apple pies, simple replace the filling with apple pie filling. I personally enjoyed the nutella and marshmallows, but I might replace the nutella with actual chocolate chips. When they came out of the oven, the nutella wasn’t melted like I hoped it would. You could also sift some powdered sugar on top after the pies have cooled to make them look extra special. I think these would be great for a party because if people are walking around they won’t have to worry about carrying a plate or making a mess with these. I actually took some to work with me and everyone loved them! Either way I’m sure they’ll be a crowd pleaser.

 

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

p.s What do you think of the photos? I thought I would add more photos of me actually going through some of the steps of cooking/baking. Is that more helpful for you? Let me know!

5 thoughts on “Handheld Pies

  1. Pingback: Happy (belated) Pi Day! | Les Saveurs De Mimi

Leave a Reply

