Bacon Cups

As an avid bacon lover, when I first saw this article I knew that I had to recreate it. Pat had shared it with a friend and I, being the creeper that I am (just kidding, but with that facebook newsfeed everyone is technically a creeper whether they want to be or not), clicked the link. It looked so cool! The idea that you could make bacon into crispy little containers for other ingredients was mindblowing. Okay maybe not that amazing, but my mind is easily blown. It kind of reminds me of all those recipes where food becomes cupcake sized, like the mac’n’cheese baked in a cupcake tin or the pizza in cupcake form. I guess society is a tad obsessed with cupcakes at the moment. Okay enough of my rambling, anyway I just thought that the recipe for bacon cups would be a cool little cooking experiment and when I got home from work I started it right away. Now the recipe on the website suggests an egg or a salad. I decided that since I had some asparagus and some sun dried tomato, I would make the bacon cups and fill it with garlic sun-dried tomato asparagus. To go with that, I also made couscous, which I confess I do need to use more often.

So let’s get cooking!

Ingredients:

-a few thin slices of bacon
Filling:
-10 stalks of asparagus
-5 or 6 sun dried tomatoes
-1 clove of garlic
-1 tbspn olive oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. On a upturned muffin/cupcake pan, place three slices of bacon so that it covers the muffin cup. I found that wrapping one slice around the sides and then using the other two slices to cover the bottom works really well. carefully place another upturned muffin/cupcake pan on top of the bacon and press down firmly so that the bacon is sandwiched between two muffin/cupcake pans.
  2. Place the pans on a roasting pan and slide the entire thing in the oven until the bacon is nice and brown. For a mini cupcake pan it’s about 20 minutes but for a regular cupcake pan it’s about 30 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, prepare the filling of the bacon cups. Cut the asparagus and the sun dried tomato into bite sized pieces and mince the garlic. Heat the oil in a sauté pan and add in the garlic and the sun dried tomato. Once the garlic begins to brown, add in the asparagus and cook until the asparagus is al dente. Remove from the pan and set aside.
  4. Remove the roasting pan from the oven and set it aside to cool completely. Once it has cooled, remove the top cupcake pan and gently lift out the bacon cups. Let them drain upside down on a plate lined with paper towels.
  5. Once the bacon cups have drained, carefully fill them with the prepared filling.

I’m sure there are lots of other fillings you could attempt, a mushroom and cheese filling or a small salad. If you’re making the bacon cups for breakfast you could also add in the egg. I will say that my bacon was cooked, but not crispy like the saveur recipe which was probably because I used a regular sized cupcake pan and not a mini cupcake pan. I found another recipe from Not Martha that had the oven preheated to 400 degrees and she used a king sized muffin tin. So next time I’ll crank up the heat and see which one works better.

Hugs and Puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

