Monkey Bread

Hello!! How have you all been? It’s been quite a while. I’ve been pretty busy moving dorms, settling down, getting rid of a tiny infestation of gnats, babysitting, and setting up my Etsy shop. As well as starting my junior year of college. I have been baking cookies and such, but it was chocolate chip and I’ve already made chocolate chip cookies so I figured you’d survive without the post. Basically I was busy with other aspects of my life (college, friends, clubs [as in  school clubs], Quidditch, etc.), but I hope to bake at least once a week during the semester. Anyway, enough of the apologies and the excuses. What you see before you is monkey bread or pinch-me-cake. I’d been dying to try monkey bread for multiple years now, I first heard about it when I was still in elementary school. My best friend’s mom had made it, but she called it pinch-me-cake. She used the pillsbury doughboy method and while I’m usually a bake-from-scratch kind of gal I think this will be one of the baked goods where I can cheat. Well maybe one day I’ll attempt monkey bread from scratch (it’s not that hard), but I think for now I’ll stick with the aforementioned pillsbury recipe which you can find here. Of course I simplified it and got rid of the walnuts and the raisins (these are optional).

So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-1/2 cup granulated sugar
-1 tsp ground cinnamon
-2 cans of Pillsbury Grands! Homestyle refrigerated biscuits
-1 cup brown sugar (firmly packed)
-3/4 cup of butter (melted)
 

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Mix the ground cinnamon and the granulated sugar in a glass bowl. Melt the butter and combine with the brown sugar. Remove the biscuits from the can and separate them into individual biscuits. Cut or tear each of the biscuits into four pieces.
  3. Roll the biscuit pieces into the cinnamon sugar mixture until fully coated. Spray a cake pan or a bundt pan with nonstick spray and place the biscuit pieces in the pan. Pour the brown sugar and the butter mixture over the pieces.
  4. Bake in the oven for 28 to 32 minutes or until golden brown.

Now while it was probably better to make these in a bundt pan, Pat didn’t have one at his apartment, so I used a cupcake pan instead. They came out really nicely and I tore the biscuits into smaller pieces. I really liked that they created little individual pinch-me-cakes because it did stop me from eating all of them at the same time. I think it went really well and I’m definitely making this again if I ever have to go to a party. It’s perfect because you get to pinch off bite sized pieces without having to worry about getting too messy. Also in the future, I apologize in advance for the downgrading of photo quality. Patrick isn’t living with me anymore (we’ve moved to our respective dorms/apartments) so he’s not as available to take photos of all my baked goods and I will be taking them with my dinky digital camera. Oh well, until next time!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

p.s. Next time might have something to do with my Quidditch team😉 Just sayin’

2 thoughts on “Monkey Bread

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Monkey Bread « Les Saveurs De Mimi

  2. Pingback: Parmesan and Garlic Monkey Bread « Les Saveurs De Mimi

Leave a Reply

