Pasta Soup

So last friday I came down with a sudden fever and let me tell you, sudden fevers are no fun whatsoever. Lying in bed not doing anything sucks, especially when you have a laundry list of things to do like finish homework, clean your room, baby sit etc. Well anyway I guess what I’m trying to say is that being sick sucks. Especially when it’s only the first week of school. So last night to make myself feel better, I made some pasta soup. And then I realized that I use the same ingredients over and over. I suppose it’s time for a new change. Luckily I now live on the cusp of chinatown, so I’ll get to try my hand on asian cuisines.

Well I have some homework to get to, so let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-two sweet italian sausages
-1 red pepper
-1 yellow pepper
-3 carrots
-4 tablespoons pasta sauce
-pasta
-2 cups chicken broth
-salt, pepper, seasonings (oregano, basil, bay leaves, garlic [about 1 clove], parsley) to taste
 

Directions:

  1. Generously salt a pot of water and set to boil. Add in the pasta and cook until the pasta is al dente.
  2. Dice the peppers and carrots, slice the sausage. In a large pot, add minced garlic, peppers, carrots and sausage and brown for 5 minutes or until the sausage has a nice crust. Add in the chicken broth, the seasonings and the pasta sauce. Stir until well combined. Add in bay leaves and let simmer for a few minutes.
  3. Drain the pasta and add to the soup. Ladle into separate bowls and eat!

This definitely hit the spot for me. It warmed me up and I believe it was full of the nutrients that I needed to fight my fever. I would have added more veggies (aka onions, celery) and maybe some actual chicken instead of the sausage but it was still really good. Apologies for the horrible photo quality, like I said Pat isn’t living with me any more and I don’t have a fancy camera like he does (I only have a Canon IXY digital camera and it isn’t the best at food photography). One day I will get a nice camera and hone my photography skills. In the meantime though, please bear with me!

Hugs and Puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

