Chocolate thumbprints

My club, Puzzled for Good, is having our first meeting of the year and what better way to start off a good semester of puzzling than with a batch of chocolate thumbprint cookies? I must say, I was going to make just a regular ol’ batch of chocolate chip cookies, but when I looked through my fridge I realized that I had run out of eggs. Seeing as the closest grocery store (that I know of) was either the food emporium or trader joe’s on 14th street (I live all the way on canal) I decided to forgo the eggs and use a recipe that didn’t need them.  I got the recipe for the thumbprint cookies from my Williams Sonoma Cookies cookbook and since I didn’t have jam I used chocolate chips instead (looks like I need to go grocery shopping soon!). I thought they were perfect seeing as the cookies were like “clues” and we are a club that loves all sorts of puzzles (we had a murder mystery event last year). So hopefully everyone will enjoy them and hopefully I made enough!

Let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-1/2 cup butter (unsalted, softened)
-3 tbsp granulated sugar
-1 cup AP flour
-3/4 tsp vanilla extract
-big pinch of salt
-large chocolate chips (or jam)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit and spray two baking sheets with non stick spray. Cream together the butter, sugar, salt, and vanilla extract until well combined. Add in the flour and mix until all the flour is incorporated. Take small amounts of dough (about 1 tbsp) and roll them into a ball. Place them on the prepared baking sheets and gently flatten them. Press the chocolate chips in the center of each cookie.
  2. Place the baking sheets in the oven and bake them for 10 minutes or until golden brown. Cool them on a wire rack.

If you’re using jam, use your thumb to make a small indentation in the dough and fill it with your favorite flavor of jam.

I would definitely be making these again, but when I do I would probably use bigger chocolate chips (maybe hershey’s kisses?). However, if you are using hershey’s kisses I would definitely place them on the cookies after they come out of the oven. So make an indentation (about the same size as the base of a kiss) in the dough and leave it unfilled. Then right after you pull the cookies out of the oven, top them with the kisses.

Hugs and Puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

