Vegan Avocado Brownies

So today I really went out on a limb and decided to make something I had never really made before. Vegan brownies. Now you’re probably thinking, Mimi. Avocados in brownies? ughhhhhh. Well to tell you the truth, I was a little skeptical as well. To me avocados are best in guacamole or plain with a little sprinkle of salt, but I thought it’s about time I started including different diets into my baking system and plus, I heard avocado brownies can be pretty healthy. So I went to the grocery store, bought some avocados and decided to make them. I was definitely more open to making them after befriending a few vegans in my creative writing class. In fact, these brownies are for my creative writing class and hopefully they’ll enjoy them! I used this recipe by Ashley Adams and tweaked a few things, but basically I followed Ashley’s steps.

So what are you waiting for? Let’s get started!

Ingredients: I italicized what I changed

-2 cups AP flour
-2 cups white sugar I used a little less sugar about 1 and 3/4 cup of sugar because I didn’t want it to be overwhelmingly sweet
-3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
-1 tsp baking powder
-1 tsp salt
-1 cup mashed avocado
-1/2 cup vanilla or plain soy milk I used about 1 cup of almond milk
-1/3 cup water
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-a dash of nutmeg and ginger 

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Celsius. Prepare a 9 by 9 inch cake pan with non-stick spray or parchment paper.
  2. Chop up the avocado and make sure that it’s smooth and creamy. I used an emulsion blender for this, but I’m sure you could use a avocado masher/fork/blender/food processor. Mix together the blended avocado with the almond milk, water, and vanilla extract.
  3. Add in the flour, sugar, baking powder, cocoa powder and the spices. Mix until well combined, it might take a while and you might think that it’s a very thick brownie batter, but as you incorporate the ingredients into the wet ingredients it’ll get to look more like brownie batter.
  4. Once fully incorporated, pour the batter into the cake pan and bake for 30 to 35 minutes. An inserted toothpick should come out pretty clean with a few crumbs.
  5. Let the brownies cool and sift powdered sugar on top.

These brownies were really delicious. You could hardly taste the avocado and my creative writing class (and a few other friends) loved them. I think the avocado gives them a nice fudge-y texture that makes it feel like you’re eating fudge brownies. Plus the avocado makes these treats a little healthier than the real deal🙂 I definitely had a lot of fun making vegan baked goods and I can’t wait to try out more recipes. Stay tuned!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

p.s sorry for the lack of photos! I’ll upload them soon!

Leave a Reply

