Gingerbread Muffins

IMG_6552First of all apologies for the terrible photo quality. Pat’s the photographic one and seeing as he’s busy and can’t take photos of my baked goods all the time, I’m stuck using my iphone or digital camera. Usually I stick to the Iphone. Anyway I like to make baked goods when I’m stressed  and seeing as it’s finals week, I’m doing a lot of stress baking. I’ve also dabbled in vegan bakery this semester because one of the girls in my creative writing class is a vegan and I thought it would be a great to attempt vegan bakery through that. It was definitely really fun, but for the most part I’m still interested in non-vegan baking. Looking for vegan substitutes was kind of difficult and, seeing as I’m allergic to soy, I had to look for non-soy vegan products. Whew, talk about a tad difficult. Luckily I’ve basically stuck to avocados, earth balance and almond milk for the vegan baked goods. On the other bright side, the girl in my creative class liked my vegan baked noms so it’s good to know that while I don’t have to make them, I don’t suck at making them.

Anyway, on to the baking! Gingerbread muffins!!! I found the recipe on Kate’s Short and Sweets, but again I tweaked it a bit.

Ingredients:

-2 cups whole wheat flour
-1/2 cup AP flour
-1 1/2 tsp baking soda
-1 tsp cinnamon
-1 tsp ginger
-1/4 tsp cloves
-1/4 tsp nutmeg
-1/2 cup molasses
-1/2 cup honey
-1 cup hot water (I just used sink-hot)
-1/2 cup vegetable oil
-1/4 cup sugar (white, brown, or muscovado)
-1/4 cup earth balance

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 and line a cupcake pan. If you don’t have liners, just spray the pan with nonstick cooking spray and set aside.
  2. In a medium mixing bowl, combine the flours, spices, and the baking soda. Mix until they’re combined. In a larger bowl, cream together the earthbalance and the sugar.
  3. Once the earthbalance and the sugar are well blended, add in the flour and the oil, molasses and honey. I would measure out the oil first, so after you measure out the molasses and the honey, they both slide right out🙂
  4. Mix until well combined. Spoon the batter into the cupcake tins until they’re about 3/4 of the way full or to the very top. I filled them up all the way and they came out fine.
  5. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean. Cool the cupcakes completely and dust with powdered sugar.

I thought that these would be a lot sweeter than they turned out to be, so when I dusted them with powdered sugar they were really tasty. They smell amazing as well! There’s just something about gingerbread…

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

