Chocolate-chocolate chunk cookies

Hey there! How was everyone’s holidays? I’ve finally settled down for a bit in Tokyo. I got home and it was a whirlwind of meeting family members to say “Hi, hello! I’m back!” unpacking, and running more errands with my mom. Today was the first time in a while that I got to relax and just stay at home. Oh and play with my new babyπŸ™‚ Yup, for christmas I got a yellow kitchen aid and I am now, hopefully, never leaving my kitchen. It was the best gift ever! I just wish I could take it back to the states with me😦 photo-1After running around doing chores and such, I finally managed to take inventory of the kitchen and go grocery shopping with my mom (can I just say how ridiculously expensive things can be in Japan? and how TINY everything is? I laughed at how small the bags of flour are). Anyway, I got all my ingredients and got to break in my new kitchen aid today. Since we had a lot of chocolate, I decided to make something chocolate-y (and because well who doesn’t want something chocolate-y?). I looked through my favorite cookbook “Luscious Chocolate Desserts” and found a recipe for chocolate-chocolate chunk cookies. Mmmmmm double chocolate cookies sounded good to me, so I got all my ingredients out and got baking. photo Ingredients:

-11 ounces semisweet chocolate
-3 tbsp unsalted butter
-1 tsp espresso powder
-1/2 cup packed brown sugar
-2 eggs
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-1/3 cup AP flour
-1/4 tsp baking powder
-a pinch of salt (since I used salted butter, I omitted the salt)
-1 cup chopped toasted hazelnuts or pecans (I used almonds instead of hazelnuts and pecans. And I didn’t toast them, but I probably should have seeing as toasting emphasizes the nuttiness)
Optional
–1/4 cup coca nibs

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Coarsely chop 8 ounces of the chocolate and place in a heatproof bowl with the butter and the espresso powder. Place bowl on top of a saucepan of about 1 cup of simmering water (in other words, it’s a double boiler) and whisk until the chocolate is melted and smooth. Set aside.
  3. Beat the sugar, eggs and vanilla with an electric mixer until well blended. Add in the Β chocolate mixture and beat until smooth. Then add in the flour, baking powder and salt and whisk until well blended. Fold in the remaining chocolate, nuts and cocoa.
  4. Drop the batter, the book says using 1/4 cups, but I used a tablespoon, onto the baking sheets leaving at least an inch apart. They do spread, but only a little bit. I made the mistake of putting too much space and ended up baking the cookies in two batches. That wasn’t good because the chocolate does harden and when it does it makes it harder to work with the batter and I think it also affects how they bake.
  5. Bake for about 10 to 12 minutes or until the tops are lightly cracked.
  6. Cool the cookies on the baking sheet for 10 minutes and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Enjoy them with a cup of coffee or store in an airtight container at room temperature for 3 days.

These cookies were delicious and my grandma won’t stop bugging me to give her the recipe. I guess it means they are a must for every chocolate lover out there! If you don’t like nuts/are allergic to them I’m sure you can remove them from the recipe and they would still taste great! If you’re a vegan, definitely use vegan chocolate and egg substitute. I suppose if you’re not a fan of semisweet chocolate you can also replace with with either dark chocolate, bittersweet or even white chocolate. I might dry adding some dried fruit or maybe some raspberry jam. Oh and if they’re for a a dinner party or something, I think they can be dressed up with powdered sugar (powdered suar always makes things look a lot more elegant) The possibilities are endless!πŸ™‚ Hugs and puppies! Mimi

3 thoughts on “Chocolate-chocolate chunk cookies

  1. Pingback: Apple Muffins « Les Saveurs De Mimi

  2. Pingback: Nutty Chocolate Balls | Les Saveurs De Mimi

  3. Pingback: Peppermint Chocolate Cookies | Les Saveurs De Mimi

Leave a Reply

