Quiche Lorraine

photo

HAPPY NEW YEAR’S EVE (Well it is in Japan)!! I hope everyone has exciting plans! Me, I’m staying home with my date, my kitchen aid. That’s what happens when all your friends are not in the same country, but that’s okay. I’m not one for crowds anyway, all that getting lost and screaming your head off for your friends and bobbing up in down in a sea of people. I’d rather snuggle with my puppies at home, eat food and watch the count downs on TV.

Tonight, my family is having a New Year’s Eve party, we always do it’s kind of like a tradition. A potluck dinner with friends and family, who can ask for anything more? This year, instead of just arranging the cheese plate and making my sun-dried tomato cream cheese dip, my mom asked me to make a quiche. She absolutely adores quiches and I had recently found a recipe for quiche I was dying to try so I thought why not? I found the recipe on Smitten Kitchen, I love her blog. I think it was one of the blogs that made me want to start my own🙂

So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

Filling:

-1 onion, diced (smitten kitchen’s recipe called for leeks as well, but I omitted them because I didn’t have any at home)

-1 tbsp or 2 olive oil

-1 1/2 cups diced bacon (Smitten Kitchen called for ham, but we only had bacon)

-1 cup shredded cheese (I used a mix of gouda and I think guyere)

-parmesan cheese

Batter:

-3 eggs

-1 cup heavy cream

-1 cup sour cream

-a pinch each of salt, nutmeg and pepper

Crust:

For the crust, I used my go-to pie crust recipe

-1 1/4 cup flour

-8 tbsp butter (1 stick or 1/2 a cup)

-1/4 tsp salt

-3 tbsp ice cold water

Directions:

  1. Caramelize the diced onion in a large saute pan. About 30-40 minutes. Remove from the heat and set aside.
  2.  Combine the flour and salt in a medium mixing bowl. Cut in the butter until it is about pea sized. Add in the water and mix until a dough forms. Roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface and line a pie pan. I used a tart pan and honestly it was a pretty bad mistake, the filling overflowed. I think next time I’ll use my 9-inch spring form pan. That way I’ll have a deeper pie🙂 Gently press to remove any air bubbles and place in the freezer while you make the batter.
  3. Combine the heavy cream and the sour cream until well blended. Add in the eggs and mix until well combined. Add in the nutmeg, salt and pepper and mix.
  4. Preheat the oven to 350 F
  5. Remove the crust from the freezer and sprinkle the  base with parmesan cheese. I heard that doing this keeps the crust from getting soggy. Then evenly spread the caramelized onions across the bottom of the crust. Sprinkle on the bacon and then the cheese. Pour the batter over the top (make sure you don’t overfill!)
  6. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until the top is nice and brown and the crust is golden. Let the quiche cool (the eggs with deflate) and serve!

This year has been absolutely wonderful and I’ve been so lucky to have readers like you! I reached 2,400 views this year and it’s only my first! Honestly, I couldn’t have done it without you.  I hope you all have a wonderful evening and see you in 2013!😀

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

