Roasted Guinea Fowl and Buttermilk Biscuits

photo 4

So a few days ago, my dad told me he had a whole guinea fowl (aka a french chicken) in our freezer. And like any normal baker/chef, I decided that  it was probably best to roast it. I also thought that since the last time I roasted a half chicken, I had left overs for a chicken pot pie (which was delicious) I could do the same thing (unfortunately, all the chicken was eaten last night. I guess that means it was delicious, so not that unfortunate). Anyway, I had my dad pull out the chicken and let it defrost for a day. The one thing that kills me when I decide to roast a chicken is that unless you go to buy the whole chicken that day, you definitely have to plan ahead. It takes at least a full day for the chicken to de-frost and then it’s best to marinade it for another day. Despite all the prep before hand, it’s a really simple dish to make and super delicious.

So what are we waiting for? Let’s get cooking!

Roasted Chicken

Ingredients:

-one whole chicken (defrosted)
-2 carrots, peeled and chopped*
-1 onion, peeled and chopped*
-a few small potatoes, peeled*
-1 red pepper, chopped*
-2 sticks of celery*
-2 tbsp EVOO
-a couple of pinches of salt
-pepper
-A splash of red wine (optional)
-cloves of garlic (optional)
-1 cup water
Marinade (roughly):
-about a cup EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil)
-about 1/2 cup soy sauce
-1 tbsp oregano
-1 tbsp basil
-1 tsp brown mustard
-1 tbsp fennel

* You want the veggies to be fairly large and equal in size so they don’t burn or cook at different rates.

Directions:

  1. Rinse the bird and pat it dry with a paper towel. Place it in a large ziploc bag and add in the marinade ingredients. Tightly close the bag and massage the marinade mixture over and around the bird. Place the ziploc bag on a tray or a bowl (so that if the marinade drips out, it won’t spill). Let the bird sit for at least 12 hours. I placed the chicken in the marinade overnight, flipped the bag (so that the other side of the bird rests in the marinade) and let it sit all day. 
  2. Preheat the oven to 450 F or (220 C).
  3. Roughly chop the veggies into equal sized pieces. Place in a large bowl or a ovenproof dish that’s big enough for the veggies and the chicken. Pour EVOO over the veggies, add a few pinches of salt and toss together so that the EVOO, the salt and veggies are well blended. Remove the chicken from the ziploc bag and place over the veggies. Add some red wine to the marinade if you wish and set aside for later.
    Sorry for the blurry quality, Pat's not in Japan with me so I'm left to fend for myself :(

    Sorry for the blurry quality, Pat’s not in Japan with me so I’m left to fend for myself😦


  4. Place the ovenproof dish in the oven on a roasting pan and pour water into the roasting pan until it is about half way full. This will create steam within the oven and keep the chicken from drying out. Cook for 40 minutes.
  5. Remove the chicken from the oven and pour the marinade over it. Reduce the oven temperature to 400 F (200 C) and cook for another 30 to 40 minutes. You may have to add more water. Keep cooking the bird until it’s internal temperature reaches at least 180 F (82 C). If the skin is getting burnt, simply place a loosely wrapped sheet of foil over the bird and continue cooking.
  6. Remove the bird from the oven and let it sit so that the juices are redistributed throughout the bird. photo 3

Buttermilk Biscuits

photo 4

Because these buttermilk biscuits are baked at 450 F and only take about 15-17 minutes to bake, I suggest you begin making the dough during the last half of the second cooking period of the roast chicken (does that make sense?). Basically, when the chicken is almost done cooking in the second round of cooking in the oven, begin the biscuits. That way, the biscuits are baking while the chicken is resting and by the time the biscuits are ready, so is the chicken🙂

Ingredients:

-300 grams of AP flour (about 2 and 1/2 cups of flour)

-1 tbsp baking powder

-1/4 tsp baking soda

-1/4 tsp salt

-1 tbsp sugar

-6 tbsp of butter

-210 ml of buttermilk** (about a little less than a cup)

**If you don’t have buttermilk, simply pour a bit of lemon juice or vinegar into regular milk and set aside for a few minutes.

Directions:

  1. If you don’t have buttermilk, squeeze a few rops of lemon juice in regular milk and set aside. In a large mixing bowl, combine the AP flour, baking soda and powder, salt and sugar. Cut the butter into small pieces and using a pastry cutter, two forks, two knives or your fingers, cut the cold butter up into pea-sized pieces. 
  2. Add in the buttermilk until the dough comes together. Pat it out into a rectangle about an inch thick on a well floured surface or a silpat mat (I’m using one at home and it’s absolutely wonderful, I use it roll out pie crusts and it’s glorious, but I digress). Use a large biscuit cutter, or if you don’t have one, a cup and cut out the dough. Lay them out on a baking sheet covered in parchment paper and bake for 15 to 17 minutes at 450 F (220 C) or until the tops are golden brown.
  3. Spread butter over the tops of the biscuits and you’re ready to eat!

photo 4

My family really enjoyed the dinner and so I can say that it’s definitely a hit. My dad brought out some red wine to enjoy the dinner with and my mom proclaimed that it felt like Christmas. It was kind of funny calling her to dinner while she studied for her TOEIC test (kind of like my mom and I switched places for the night). The chicken juices and the marinade seeped into the veggies and gave them extra flavor. We used the biscuits to dunk into the juices as well and it was amazing. I definitely ate a little too much last night. My sister got home from work late, but we saved her some and she said that the biscuits were my best so far! Basically, I got the spend more time cooking and improve my chicken roasting skills and everyone got to eat and be happy.

photo 3

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

