Ginger Molasses Cookies

photo 3

Yeah, I know that cookies containing ginger and molasses are usually holiday cookies (those in december), but my sister kept asking me to make these. Who am I to say no? Plus, ginger molasses cookies are delicious. Who said we can only have them around the holidays? Technically, my sister wanted the cookies my friend makes, but since that recipe is a family secret, she found and settled for something similar to it. She found the recipe at Mel’s Kitchen CafΓ©. These were actually really easy and with my kitchen aid, I was able to whip up a batch in no timeπŸ˜€

So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-8 tbsp butter (or 113 grams)
-2 cups AP flour (Mel had 1 cup each of flour and whole wheat flour, but I didn’t have the whole wheat Β so I improvised!)
-2 egg whites
-1 cup packed light brown sugar
-2 tsp baking soda
-1/4 cup molasses
-1/8 tsp ground cloves
-1 tsp ground cinnamon
-1/4 tsp ground ginger
-1/2 tsp salt
-granulated sugar (to roll the tops of the cookies with)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 F or 190 C. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, use a electric mixer or a kitchen aid to blend together the brown sugar, egg whites, butter and molasses until well combined.
  3. Add in the flour, spices and the baking soda and mix until fully incorporated. Roll about a tablespoon of dough between your hands, dip the top half in the granulated sugar and place on the baking sheets.*
  4. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until the tops are crinkly and the edges are crisp. If you want crispy cookies, I suggest you bake them from 9 to 10 minutes. If you want chewy cookies, bake for no more than 8 minutes.

*Mel said to chill the dough for 30 minutes, but I didn’t really have space in my fridge, so I just rolled them out and placed them on the cookie sheets. It might be best to do that though so that the dough isn’t too sticky.

While I enjoy crispy cookies (I like dunking them in my tea), my sister does not. I completely forgot that and baked them for about 9 minutes and am left with crispy cookies. While I highly doubt my sister will care too much, I think that next time I bake these, I will bake the cookies for only 5 or 6 minutes. Baking time really depends on how you like your cookies. Also if you want chewier cookies, I suggest using dark brown sugar. Cookie consistency can also depend on what kind of sugar you use (granulated sugar = crispier cookies, brown sugar/molasses/honey = chewier cookies). I might play around with the recipe (adding more spices, etc.). I’ll let you know how it goes!

photo 3 photo 3

Hugs and puppies!
Mimi

One thought on “Ginger Molasses Cookies

Leave a Reply

