Plaza Mayor y otras lugares

IMG_6463

I hope you all don’t mind if I sprinkle in a few Spanish words, necesito practicar más!

After being bombarded with spanish during the entire morning, with a spanish grammar class and un lectura sobre de historia de Español todo en español (a lecture on the history and culture of spain: all in spanish), mis amigas y yo filled out the forms for el bonos (monthly train passes). And can I just say, these are so much cheaper than the New York ones, which cost a crazy $104. The el bono, which includes buses as well as the metro is a measly 35 euros. Please, can I just live here? After the el bonos, we went for almuerzo (lunch) cerca de la escuela (close to the school). For 10 curos and 50 cents, we had a three course lunch and boy was I stuffed! I even learned a new word: yerno (I think that’s the spelling). Estoy yerno means that I’m full and I used it twice in one day. One thing is for sure, Madrid is truly a foodie heaven. Especially with the tapas, which I will have to try again soon! I only had the croquetas a  few nights ago and they were muy delicioso!
Anyway, after lunch, mis amigas y yo took the metro to Sol (Madrid’s Times Square) and wandered around (stopping to check out las tiendas [shops] along the way) to the Plaze Mayor, which was amazing don’t you think?
IMG_6483 IMG_6482 IMG_6481After that we wandered our way to El Palacio Real de Madrid, which was another breathtaking site.

But not before stopping to check out this odd little table with two masked heads and a hat. I stepped forward to take a closer look and then...

But not before stopping to check out this odd little table with two masked heads and a hat. I stepped forward to take a closer look and then…

Which actually had a real person inside! And he scared us so much!

A THIRD HEAD POPPED OUT! Oh those Madrileños….

After a short, fun scare, we headed out of the plaza and stumbled about this little gem: un tienda de dulces!

 

 

 

 

A sweet shop!

A sweet shop!

The cutest lollipops you will ever see

The cutest lollipops you will ever see

My favorite thing: chocolate!Me encanta chocolate!

My favorite thing: chocolate!
Me encanta chocolate!

Chocolate covered...olives?

Chocolate covered…olives?

We finally found out way to the Palacio Real de Madrid and had so much fun being the turista and taking all of the photos!

IMG_6510 IMG_1430 IMG_1437 IMG_1443

And those are only some of the photos that I took today! I’ll stop bombarding you with photos in this post, but you can expect more photos to come in tomorrow’s post! NYU is taking us, estudiantes (students) on a walking tour of Old Madrid and you can bet that I’m going to go crazy with my little camera!

Hasta mañana chicos!

Mimi

 

Leave a Reply

