Old Madrid

So today after our classes, we traveled around Old Madrid for a bit. While the rain was a bit of a damper, the tour itself was anything but. We started off at Plaza Mayor, which according to my professor, was built in a closed off geometric shape to maintain the power of the king despite the rapid growth of the population. Apparently they held a lot of propaganda related events in the Plaza Mayor to maintain order within Madrid. There are only  two original buildings left within the Plaza Mayor.

This happens to be one of them

This happens to be one of them

IMG_6527

After that we wandered around the streets of Plaza Mayor, stumbling across gorgeous little plazas, churches, and other buildings. Some of the buildings were built with an Austrian style, while others were more modern. Apparently there is an imperial church near the Plaza Mayor and the aristocracy had a road built around the Plaza so that they wouldn’t have to walk through the Plaza, where they could be seen by everyone.

My professor had wonderful tidbits about all the buildings, roads, and etc. Not only did I find cute shops with amazingly cute zapatos (shoes), I found the Madrid equivalent of New York’s Chelsea Market! It’s called Mercado de San Miguel. Our tour guide took us in and bought us all sangrias to warm us up🙂 Did I mention our tour guide is one of the professors at Madrid? And that I absolutely love him? He’s this sweet elderly professor and he’s by far one of the nicest Madrileños that I have encountered (well all NYU Madrid faculty are the sweetest). We had been walking around in the cold and then it started to drizzle. We all agreed it was time for a little break. And then I had my first churros con chocolate there. It was delicious, though I’m old the best place for churros con chocolate is San Gines. I’ll let you know when I taste it for myself. But for now I’ll leave you with some photos of my adventures in Old Madrid😉

IMG_6550

Mercado de San Miguel (aka Madrid’s version of the Chelsea Market)

IMG_6537

Zapatos de españa. According to my tour guide, it’s typical for spaniards to wear these during the warmer seasons and when they go to the beaches

IMG_6573

Just another pretty square on casual street. The raindrops reflected the flash making it even prettier

IMG_6594

One of the many churches within Madrid

IMG_6540

Just a casually quaint spanish street

IMG_6557

Sangria break

All in all it was a pretty awesome tour. I got to get to know new people (some who knew some friends from New York, proving how small the world can be) and I got to know more about Madrid. Tomorrow, we’re going to the Reina Sophia Museum!

Hasta luego chicos!

Mimi

2 thoughts on “Old Madrid

  1. Wonderful post. I have relatives in Spain and it has been quite some time since I last visited. In many ways, “historical Madrid” is a misnomer, i.e., Madrid was one of the most heavily affected cities of Spain in the Civil War (1936–1939). The city was a stronghold of the Republicans from July 1936. Its western suburbs were the scene of an all-out battle in November 1936 and it was during the Civil War that Madrid became the first European city to be bombed by airplanes.

    By the by, I was in Madrid shortly after the Dictator Franco passed away. The city and the country was joyous at his departure . . . If you get a chance, visit Salamanca, a beautiful city with buildings going back hundreds of years (the Moorish influence is quite apparent).

    Again, great post!

Leave a Reply

