Samoas


Yes you read that right. I found a recipe for Samoas or caramel di-lites, at Sweet Kiera’s blog and decided to make them for myself! Because well, why wouldn’t you? You can find the original recipe here. I was a brownie back home in Japan, but we never got to sell actual girl scout cookies. I think it was because they didn’t ship the girl scout cookies abroad? Because of this, we sold plain ol’ sugar cookies that weren’t even girl scout cookies. My mom has the recipe still taped to one of the cupboard. It’s called “the Unofficial Girl Scout Cookie recipe.” Bleh. Anyway, so my first ever encounter with the real deal was freshmen year at NYU and they were amazing. I loved the thin mints and the samoas, which is why I nearly died when I came upon this samoa recipe. Pat also loves samoas, so that was another extra incentive to get baking.

So what are we waiting for? Let’s get started!

Ingredients:

Base:
-1 cup unsalted butter (room temp)
-1/2 cup granulated sugar
-2 cups AP flour
-1/4 tsp baking powder
-1/2 tsp salt
-1/2 tsp vanilla
-1 tbsp milk (or not)
Topping:
-12 ounces Coconut flakes
– 3 cups chewy caramels
-3 tbsp heavy cream
-8-12 ounces chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F. Pour the coconut until a single layer on a roasting pan and place in the oven. You want to toast the coconut until it’s a nice golden brown. Be careful though, once coconut starts to brown, it can easily burn! I recommend taking it out and tossing the coconut around every 2 minutes (although Kiera says 5, so I assume 5 is okay too). While the coconut is toasting, begin assembling the caramel. By that I mean unwrap the soft caramels and place them in a bowl. 
  2. Cream the butter and the sugar until well combined. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, salt and add it to the butter mixture.
  3. Once everything is well combined, add in the vanilla and mix until it forms a dough. If the dough is still crumbly, add a bit of milk (little by little) until the dough is nice and smooth. Kiera says to roll out the dough and place it in the fridge, but since I didn’t have the space in my fridge, I simply wrapped the dough (divided into two) in the plastic wrap and chilled them for at least 30 minutes.
  4. If you haven’t rolled out the dough, do so on waxed or parchment paper. Then using a circular cookie cutter, cut out the cookie shapes the dough. Now you can use a smaller cookie cutter to cut out the center, but I simply used a thumbprint cookie method. As in I used my thumb to punch out little circular holes in the center of the cookies. The dough is really delicate, so it’s recommended to cut out the cookies (about ½ an inch apart) straight on the baking sheet and then peel away the excess dough.
  5. Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes or until they become a nice golden brown. While keeping a close eye on the cookies, begin making the caramel. Add in the heavy cream and heat at 30 second increments in the microwave. Once the mixture is melted and well combined, combine it with the toasted coconut and set aside.
  6. Melt the chocolate and set aside. Once the cookies are completely cooled, transfer on a wire rack. You want the cookies to be completely cooled or they WILL break. They’re very delicate. Top with the coconut/caramel mixture and then using a spatula or a ziploc bag, drizzle on the melted chocolate.
  7. Now comes the hard part that I always tend to skip because I never have enough chocolate (I really should start to measure it). Place the remaining chocolate in a small shallow bowl and picking up the cookie very carefully, dip the bottom in the chocolate and place on the wire rack to cool. I think it might be best to layer the wire rack with wax paper so the chocolate doesn’t stick. It’ll also help with cleanup in that there will be no drips of chocolate on the table under the wire rack!

My mommy and my sister LOVED these samoas and I think that’s an accomplishment because my mom hates things that are too sweet! I took some to the dentist as well (how ironic) and they were so pleased (another irony). I think giving people stuff that you bake gives it a lot more meaning than simply buying something (not to diss on those who don’t bake). It just shows that you care because you invested the time and effort.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this post! I’ll definitely be making these again. It’s without a doubt my favorite recipe (along with all my other recipes :p)

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

2 thoughts on “Samoas

Leave a Reply

