Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia

Before I say anything, let me just tell you, I’m SO tired from wandering around Madrid and being bombarded with Spanish history lessons. Don’t get me wrong, it’s fun, but it’s hard to focus when you’re tired and today everything my professors were saying sounded like nothing but Spanish gibberish. As in I understood that he was speaking spanish and I knew a bit of what he was saying, but I couldn’t retain/comprehend it. Whew, hopefully it won’t be like this all semester. I love NYU Madrid, but I think they’re overwhelming us with some things just a tad too much.

16630223_b1f2UK_T9CTecRwcFfwYzlwE5btAZLLK4FS56F7HpbY

After class, my room mate and I decided it might be best to return to our room for lunch in our barrio (neighborhood) and a short siesta. Unfortunately, while lunch was delicious, it lasted a long time (note to self: When eating lunch in Madrid, expect the quickest lunch to be somewhere between 30 min to an hour) and again we didn’t have time to have a short siesta before we were pushing ourselves out the door for El Reina Sofia (a museum). We did however find this little gem of a cafe no more than 10 minutes from our home stay, by the way did I mention how DELICIOUS the food is here? My señora also makes mouth watering food and I just can’t wait to ask her to teach me some recipes🙂

El Reina Sofia is chock full of 20th Century art: Picasso, Pablo Serrano, Pablo Gargallo, Juan Gris, Julio Gonzalez, Georges Braque, you name it. Before you read any further, I want you all to know I’m not the biggest art buff and so I don’t frequent museums often. And to be perfectly honest, I’m not a huge fan of modern art. It’s hard to interpret and sometimes I find a piece of art that I’m pretty sure I can recreate myself. You know, the one with the paint splatters? Give me a blank canvas, some paint and I’m sure I can make something very similar. All jokes aside,  I thought that it was pretty cool and the tour given by another NYU Madrid professor was super interesting and full of the history of each artist. However, I did regret that we weren’t given the chance to wander through the museum on our own accord. Believe me, while it’s informative, I cannot find anything more aburrida (boring) than having to stand in a corner of a museum (unable to really SEE the art) while someone is talking, talking, talking about the backstory of artists I’m not that interested in. Especially since it was in Spanish and my mind had decided to leave the building, as in it didn’t seem to want to mentally translate and retain the information that’s spouting out at me. I found a few pieces of art that I could stare at forever, but I feel that my first visit to the Reina Sofia was definitely not a good one. While the art was intriguing, the tour made it kind of boring. I don’t think it helped that my tour guide would have us standing in the hallway for 5-10 minutes (which has no art) to simply talk about the history of an artist. Granted, I felt bad because my professor seemed genuinely interested and he was saying some very interesting things, but it felt like I was back in the classroom and personally, I’m not a huge fan of that feeling when I’m in a museum.

Well I’m off to bed, we’re off to Segovia tomorrow morning and I have to be up bright and early. I’ll let you know all about before I take a siesta and head off to the discotecas! I can hardly wait to experience the famed Madrid nightlife for the first time!

Hasta mañana amigos!

Leave a Reply

