Craving some Asian Foods

la foto 3

While I’m loving Madrid, there’s something that I crave: Asian food. I mean I’m sure there are asian restaurants in Madrid, I’ve seen them around but I have never had the time to check them out. So what’s a girl to do when she’s craving some dumplings? Make her own! I looked around on the web and found a promising looking gyoza recipe from La Fuji Mama, but as always I added and omitted a few ingredients. Gyoza are pan-fried potstickers that are really popular in Japan. I’ve made gyoza many times before, usually with my family, but I’ve also made them on my own. Just sitting around and assembling them brings me back such good memories from my childhood. Like how my sister and I would compete to see who had the prettiest one or how we’d laugh when the wrappers would split because we’d overfill them. Now I’ve always made gyoza using premade dumpling wrappers, unfortunately, because my señora couldn’t find the right ingredients, we had to improvise. They did come out wonderfully though and I’m proud to say that my housemates enjoyed them immensely🙂 Let’s just say that this recipe is easy and a crowd pleaser!

So let’s get cooking!

Ingredients:

-Dumpling wrappers (at least 40 or so)*

Filling:

-1/2 lb ground pork (I’ve made them with beef before and they tasted good, but I prefer them with pork)

-1-2 cloves of garlic

-minced cabbage (about 4 cups)

-1/2 tbsp grated ginger (I just grated as much as I wanted)

-1-2 stalks of green onion (now La Fuji Mama says to use the green part only, I liked adding the other parts as well)

-1 tbsp soy sauce (I added this)

-1 tsp sesame oil

-1 tsp rice vinegar

-Salt and pepper about a big pinch each

Now these are the ingredients I omitted:

-2 teaspoon aka miso paste (red/dark miso paste)

-1 teaspoon crushed red chili pepper

-1/4 teaspoon sugar

* My señora couldn’t find dumpling wrappers, so we used empanada wrappers which worked perfectly. I also have tried to make my own dumpling wrappers (the recipe is here) and they came out pretty perfectly.

Directions:

  1. Toss the minced cabbage with salt and let it sit for a few minutes. While the salt pulls out the water from the cabbage, prep the other ingredients. Mince the green onion and mix it with the ground pork in a large bowl. I made a garlic paste instead of simply mincing the garlic, you can do that by mincing the garlic, sprinkling a little salt and then smooshing it with the flat of your blade. IMG_7009Add the garlic paste, grated ginger, salt, pepper, soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar and the cabbage (make sure you squeeze out the water!) to the bowl and mix until everything is combined.
    IMG_7010 
  2. Make a cornstarch slurry. If you don’t have cornstarch, water works just fine. Lay one dumpling wrapper on a dry, clean surface and place a spoonful of filling in the center. Dip your finger in the slurry (or water) and run it along the edges of the dumpling wrapper. Fold the wrapper over and press along the edges to seal them shut. Pleat the top of the dumpling and set aside on a plate or sheet pan. Repeat with the remaining wrappers.

    It's okay if some come out messy. It takes practice to pleat these things and sometimes one can't help but overfill the little wrappers.

    It’s okay if some come out messy. It takes practice to pleat these things and sometimes one can’t help but overfill the little wrappers.

  3. Lightly coat the bottom of a large frying pan (skillet/saute pan/etc.) with sesame oil and heat over medium high heat. Carefully place as many dumplings in the pan as you can with the pleated side up. Cook until the bottoms are a golden brown, about 3 minutes.
  4. Once the bottoms are browned, carefully add in 1/4 cup of water. The water will bubble and jump out (it gets repelled by the oil due to the fact that well oil is hydrophobic..hehehe Biology), so be careful!  La Fuji Mama says to drizzle in 1/2 a tsp of sesame oil once the spluttering stops, but I never did. Cover the pan with a tightly fitted lid, lower the temperature so that the water is at a simmer and steam until the tops of the dumplings are translucent, about 2 minutes).la foto 2
  5. Remove the lid once the skins are translucent and let the dumplings continue to cook until there is only oil left in the pan. Once you hear a sizzling sound and all the water is gone, give the pan a little shake. The dumplings should slide about.  If they seem to stick to the pan, move the pan away from the stove and replace the lid for a moment.  Remove the dumplings from the pan with a broad flexible spatula.
  6. Cook some rice to go along with the gyoza, set the table with soy sauce, rice vinegar and some chili oil (for dipping sauces) and you’re ready to eat!

These were so yummy, I can’t wait to make them again. I also realized that perhaps I need to learn more Asian dishes, I’m definitely getting my dad to tell me how to make his katsu (japanese fried foods) because those are just…unf….

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

