Parque das Nações

IMG_7000

So on our last day in Lisboa (sorry that this is such a late post) we went to Parque das Nações, a leisure area close to the ocean with beautiful views and it’s own marina, Marina do Parque das Nações. It’s also close to the Oceanarium, one of the world’s largest aquariums. Unfortunately we didn’t get to go, which was a huge bummer for me because I am a sucker for aquariums. I don’t know why, but they are so comforting to me and they are so beautiful. Anyway, I’m not hear to tell you guys about the aquarium that I didn’t get to go to. The Parque itself was beautiful enough! Once we wandered our way to one end of the park, we decided to take the Telecabine (or the cable cars) down to the other end.


IMG_6980Not only were they cheap (a mere 3.5 euros)  the views were absolutely gorgeous

IMG_6982

Off on a semi-adventure!

While it was a short trip, it was still pretty fun and the sky was so BLUE! I couldn’t help but feel a little bad for my friends back in NYC who were surviving through a blizzard…

555995_10151350233537753_779629658_n

I’m on top of the world!!! Okay, maybe not but it felt like it🙂

Afterwards, we wandered over to the Marina

16329_1875973702999_421472571_n

and had a quick snack at the Lighthouse where we all tried Lisboa’s port wine. While it was very sweet, I didn’t really enjoy it. However this may be because we didn’t get excellent quality port (hey, we’re only broke college students studying abroad).

47042_10151350234297753_798898338_n

Thanks for the photo Julie!

After our snack, we wandered slowly back toward the metro stop to head back to our hostels and pack our things. But on our way, we walked through the Vasco da Gama Mall. Now I got a kick out of that name because it brought back memories from 5th grade. We did reports on explorers and mine was Vasco da Gama. Not only did I do a report, but I dressed up like him for a presentation as well. Ahhh the memories!

IMG_7002

Alas, I’m back in Madrid, yearning for the next time I go to Lisboa. I can’t wait to go back, actually go to the Oceanarium and stuff myself with Pastel de Natas. Lisboa is definitely a little gem of a city and if you have the time, go check it out🙂

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

 

p.s some of these photos were taken by my friends🙂

Leave a Reply

