Eiffel Tower Wanderings

IMG_1905

Seeing as Julia had class, Pat and I were on our own again and we decided, after making plans to meet up with Julia at Trocadero (where you can get the best view of the Eiffel Tower) at 3 PM, to start off our morning with some Parisian bread. Both of us are utterly obsessed with Anthony Bourdain, so after looking at the places he visited in Paris in No Reservations and The Layover, we decided to grab breakfast at Du Pain et Des Idées.

IMG_1899 

When we walked in, I thought it was the most amazing boulangerie ever. There’s just something about the scent of freshly baked bread in the air and the sight of croissants, baguettes, the escargot breads, that can make a tummy snorgle to be filled.

IMG_1887

Pat and I chose the chocolate and pistachio escargot bread.

IMG_7507

Don’t worry, this bread had no escargot (I was a little skeptical as well). It turns out that the spiral shape, reminiscent of an escargot shell, is what gives it its name. Not the ingredients. It was flaky, sweet and pure heaven in my mouth. I just wish I had gotten another one, I guess that means I have to go back to Paris?

IMG_1903

After breakfast, Pat and I headed off to Trocadero to meet up with Julia and take all of the touristy photos in front of the Eiffel Tower. However, since we were a little early (about an hour?) Pat and I wandered around Trocadero and found a little bookstore where we comfortably spent a good 30 minutes and even bought some books. Pat bought a cookbook on dishes accompanying Bordeaux wines and I settled with a cookbook on macarons. It’s in French so I have no idea how I’m going to use it, but we’ll see!

IMG_7519

After taking touristy photos (and being forced to take cliché couple photos by Julia, I highly doubt Pat will ever relinquish those photos) we wandered around some more, unknowingly crossing the Seine and making our way towards the Notre Dame.

IMG_1898

Being hungry, we stopped by for some French onion soup  (and some free wifi) in a small café next to another bookstore. Julia had to leave for class, so Pat and I perused the bookstore for a few minutes before deciding that we were too tired to walk to the Notre Dame and took the metro home.

IMG_1900

All in all, I thought it was a pretty productive day. Pat and I got home, napped and watched Django until Julia came home. We were too tired to go out for dinner, so we ate stale cookie crisps instead. Weeeeee

Hugs and puppies,

Mimi

 

 

Addresses:

Du Pain et Des Idées

34 rue Yves Toudic

Paris, 75010

Leave a Reply

