Living my Lizzie Mcguire moment

IMG_7885

So I know it’s actually been ages since Ive been to Rome, but with all the school work piling up, I literally have no time to blog! Even as we speak, well as I type, I need to finish a 6-8 page paper on two paintings in spanish before I go off to LONDON! Oh. My. Gosh. I am so excited for London! But I digress. Since I’m kind of in a hurry, I hope you don’t mind that this post will be brief and full of photos!

Jessica and I stayed at an Airbnb place, a private room in the sweetest Italian guy’s apartment. It was 10 min from the Campini  airport and 15 min by train from the Rome city center! Before we went off to explore he made sure we knew where we were going, when the last train would be and where we could get wifi in case we got lost and needed to contact him. We then hopped onto the train to Tremini station and decided to do things Anthony Bourdain style. Yup, our guideline for Spring break was: What would Anthony Bourdain do? It also helped that we watched the Layover (Rome episode) and I had the Layover app on my phone…

But first we wanted to do the tourist-y things Bourdain specifically told us to avoid. Well I mean, I never know when I’m going to be back in Rome. I really wanted to see the Colosseum…

IMG_7840

Some Roman Ruins

IMG_7849

And then we saw a pretty cool government building….I forgot what it’s called😦

IMG_7867

The Trevi Fountain…

IMG_7878

A quick gelato break…

IMG_2485

The Spanish Steps…

Which were very crowded. yessh

Which were very crowded. yessh

Some fun random streets…

IMG_7874

Jessica and I played a game, where we had to randomly turn every time we came to the end of a street. It’s a fun game to play when you really want to get lost in a city🙂 And we found a great place to eat dinner! Obika Mozzarella bar

IMG_2481

And also Bourdain was right. You literally run into Roman Ruins and amazing sites wether you want to or not! Not that I’m complaining. I loved Rome!

IMG_7911 IMG_7912

The following day, we went to the Vatican City!

We had a cornetto and a cappucino for breakfast

IMG_2489

We went to the Basilica of St. Peter

IMG_7937

Which was so wonderful and amazing and gorgeous. I mean it took my breath away

IMG_7963

The pictures don’t do it justice

 

IMG_7951

And then we went into the Vatican Museum (the only way to get into Vatican City).. Okay well technically you can’t get into Vatican City unless you’re a priest, a nun, a bishop, the pope (I’m sorry, I don’t know religious positions I’m Buddhist!)

IMG_8026 IMG_8023 IMG_8024

And saw the SISTINE CHAPEL!

IMG_2500 IMG_2501

There were no photos allowed, but I just had too and I’m so sorry they’re all crappy quality. I took it surreptitiously on my iphone so I didn’t have the luxury to focus it or anything😦

When we got out, we were a little hungry, so we went off in search of this amazing pizza that Bourdain was talking about on his show. But not before taking a quick gelato break!

IMG_2505

 

It took us almost an hour to find this crazy pizza place, but it was so worth it! We had to ask for directions multiple times too! But what matters is that we got it in the end!

IMG_2511 IMG_2510 IMG_2509 IMG_2508 IMG_2507

 

And then we called it a day, headed home and relaxed before our flight back to Madrid!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Places:

Obiká Mozzarella Bar

Via dei Prefetti, 26

00186 Rome, Italy

Pizzarium

Via dei Prefetti, 26

00186 Rome, Italy

 

Leave a Reply

