Naughty Girl Scout Cookies: Drunken Samoas

IMG_2749

So while I was in London, Max and I had a baking party. I wanted to bake for them because well, they were letting me stay with them for a few nights and I felt that baking some cookies or something would be a nice gesture. At the baking party, I decided to make samoas again. However instead of making them the way I usually make them, I decided to add a little something extra and make these girl scout cookies into naughty girl scout cookies. We used Baileys because we forgot to buy heavy cream and we assumed that baileys was a great replacement. And then for an extra added kick, we added coconut rum, which I thought would go well with the coconut flakes. They did. It was absolutely delicious. To the point where we were eating the caramel straight out of the bowl.

So what are you waiting for? Let’s get baking!

Ingredients:

Base:
-1 cup unsalted butter (room temp)
-1/2 cup granulated sugar
-2 cups AP flour
-1/4 tsp baking powder
-1/2 tsp salt
-1/2 tsp vanilla
-1 tbsp milk (or not)
Topping:
-12 ounces Coconut flakes
– 3 cups chewy caramels
-3 tbsp Baileys*
-1 tbsp coconut rum*
-8-12 ounces chocolate chips

*For a bigger kick, increase the amount of liquor however much you want. Just make sure the caramel isn’t TOO liquid-y

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F. Pour the coconut until a single layer on a roasting pan and place in the oven. You want to toast the coconut until it’s a nice golden brown. Be careful though, once coconut starts to brown, it can easily burn! I recommend taking it out and tossing the coconut around every 2 minutes (although Kiera says 5, so I assume 5 is okay too). While the coconut is toasting, begin assembling the caramel. By that I mean unwrap the soft caramels and place them in a bowl.
  2. Cream the butter and the sugar until well combined. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, salt and add it to the butter mixture.
  3. Once everything is well combined, add in the vanilla and mix until it forms a dough. If the dough is still crumbly, add a bit of milk (little by little) until the dough is nice and smooth. Kiera says to roll out the dough and place it in the fridge, but since I didn’t have the space in my fridge, I simply wrapped the dough (divided into two) in the plastic wrap and chilled them for at least 30 minutes.
  4. If you haven’t rolled out the dough, do so on waxed or parchment paper. Then using a circular cookie cutter, cut out the cookie shapes the dough. Now you can use a smaller cookie cutter to cut out the center, but I simply used a thumbprint cookie method. As in I used my thumb to punch out little circular holes in the center of the cookies. The dough is really delicate, so it’s recommended to cut out the cookies (about ½ an inch apart) straight on the baking sheet and then peel away the excess dough.
  5. Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes or until they become a nice golden brown. While keeping a close eye on the cookies, begin making the caramel. Add in the baileys and heat at 30 second increments in the microwave. Once the mixture is melted and well combined, add in the coconut rum and combine it with the toasted coconut. Set aside.
  6. Melt the chocolate and set aside. Once the cookies are completely cooled, transfer on a wire rack. You want the cookies to be completely cooled or they WILL break. They’re very delicate. Top with the coconut/caramel mixture and then using a spoon or a ziploc bag, drizzle on the melted chocolate.
  7. Now comes the hard part: Place the remaining chocolate in a small shallow bowl and picking up the cookie very carefully, dip the bottom in the chocolate and place on the wire rack to cool. For this, I found it useful to plop the cookie in, and fish it GENTLY out with two forks. I think it might be best to layer the wire rack with wax paper so the chocolate doesn’t stick. It’ll also help with cleanup in that there will be no drips of chocolate on the table under the wire rack!

And that’s it! These were such a hit, I can’t wait to make them again! Though I am dying to make thin mints now (both naughty and regular). It was my first time baking with alcohol, but it was really pretty fun and I don’t think it was too hard. I even found out, by accident, that covering the cookie part of the samoa completely in chocolate wasn’t too bad either. But hey, that’s how you learn to cook right? Experimentation! We even made baileys short bread. But that’s another post. I can’t wait to bake more when I get back to NYC and Tokyo!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

2 thoughts on “Naughty Girl Scout Cookies: Drunken Samoas

Leave a Reply

