Banana Chocolate Cream Pie

IMG_3081

So today was a very big day for some of us. My family friend, more like my second older sister, got engaged on her birthday and we were celebrating both happy occasions. Because I wanted to make something special, I tried my hand at a chocolate cream pie. Now if you don’t know, I was scared of making chocolate cream pies because the thought of adding hot milk to egg yolks and combining them without cooking the egg yolks scared me. But today I was able to do it. Yay! And I made this amazing cream pie to boot. Everyone loved it and I loved it too! It was rich and chocolate-y and smooth, without being overly sweet or heavy. I got the recipe from Melissa Jacobson at Food and wine. However, I did make a few tweaks and adjustments.

IMG_3076

whoops! Sorry about the left over plate in the corner:/

So what are we waiting for? Let’s get started!

Ingredients:Β 

Crust:
6 ounces Oreo cookies (no filling), crumbled into fine crumbs. The recipe calls for just chocolate wafers
-4 tbsp butter (unsalted)
1 tbsp sugar the original called for 2 tbsp
-1 pinch of salt
Filling:
-2 cups whole milk
-1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
-3 egg yolks
-1/4 cup cornstarch
-1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
4 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped, I used bittersweet, which I thought it toned down the sweetness
-1 ounce unsweetened chocolate, chopped
Topping:
-3/4 cup heavy cream
-1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
-1 tsp brown sugar
-Chocolate shavings, for garnish
2 bananas, sliced

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350Β°. In a medium bowl, mix the cookie crumbs with the butter, sugar and salt until the crumbs are evenly moistened. Pour the mixture into a pie dish (I used a tart pan witha removable bottom) and press evenly over the bottom and up the side of the dish to form a crust. Bake for 8 minutes, until the crust is fragrant. Remove from the oven and, using the bottom of a drinking glass, immediately press the crumbs again to compact the crust. Let cool completely.
  2. Heat the milk with 1/4 cup of the sugar until bubbles form around the edge. In a large bowl, whisk the egg yolks with the remaining sugar (I added more sugar than the original recipe because I was using bittersweet chocolate), cornstarch, and salt . Gradually whisk in 1 cup of the hot milk mixture. Pour the egg and milk mixture into the saucepan and cook over moderate heat, whisking constantly, until very thick, about 3 minutes. Remove from the heat and whisk in the bittersweet and unsweetened chocolate until smooth. Now here Melissa says to strain it, but I didn’t and I didn’t have any problems with my cream. I think as long as you continuously whisk, there shouldn’t be any lumps. Press a piece of plastic wrap directly on the surface of the pie filling and refrigerate until chilled, about a few hours.
  3. Let the pie stand at room temperature. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, beat the cream with the brown sugar and the vanilla until firm. Spread the whipped cream over the pie, arrange the banana slices on top and garnish with chocolate curls.

IMG_3080

To make it more banana-y, I think I’ll add a layer of banana slices along the bottom of the crust before pouring in the chocolate cream. I really enjoyed making this pie and I’m definitely going to be making this again! Did I mention that of the whole thing, less than a quarter of it remains? We demolished it and it was so worth it. P.S I’ve been asked to do a guest post for Fae’s food blog! She’s absolutely amazing and I want to have a worthy post! What do you think I should cook? I was thinking one of my dad’s Japanese recipes like chicken katsu (a type of fried chicken) or chilled soup. What do you guys think? Would you like to see a sweet or savory post?

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

IMG_3079

4 thoughts on “Banana Chocolate Cream Pie

  1. Pingback: Welsh Rarebit | Les Saveurs De Mimi

  2. Pingback: Matcha Melt-in-your-mouth Meringues | Les Saveurs De Mimi

  3. Pingback: Happy (belated) National Chocolate Day! | Les Saveurs De Mimi

Leave a Reply

