Quick and Easy Lasagna

IMG_3198

So I’m a huge fan of lasagna and the last time I made it was in high school, where my dad helped me make the meat sauce from scratch and the end result was amazing. Unfortunately, I don’t have the access to everything needed for making lasagna totally from scratch (not to mention I’m still unemployed this summer. More time for cooking I guess?), so I did what any resourceful chef would do and decided to make the lasagna as well as I could make it. I made meat sauce from “scratch” for Pat and me a few nights ago, cooking ground beef and mixing it with pasta sauce, so I decided to do the same for the lasagna. Not only does this cut like 1 to 2 hours of cooking time, making it a weeknight friendly recipe, but it also makes shopping a little less hectic (You’ll probably already have most of the ingredients in your house). This may not be the best lasagna, but I can guarantee that it’s probably the quickest and easiest way of making lasagna that I know.

So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-3/4 lb of ground meat
-1/2 onion, diced
-1 clove garlic, diced
-1 can tomato pasta sauce
-15 oz ricotta
-1 bag shredded mozzarella
-1 egg
-Lasagna noodles
-salt and pepper to taste
-Parmesan, topping

Directions:

  1. Cook the diced onion and the garlic until the onions are translucent. Heat a large pot of water with a little bit of salt. Add in the ground beef and cook until the meat is browned. Pour in the pasta sauce and cook until well heated. Reduce the heat to a simmer. IMG_3191Boil the lasagna noodles until slightly cooked, about 4-5 minutes. Make sure to stir ever once in a while so that the pasta doesn’t stick together. IMG_3192
  2. Set aside a bit of mozzarella (about 1/2 a cup) in a small bowl. In a mixing bowl, mix the egg, ricotta and the rest of the mozzarella together and set aside. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (or 190 degrees C)
  3. Drain the pasta and toss with a little bit of olive oil. IMG_3193Layer the bottom of a baking dish and add a layer of pasta. Spread the ricotta and mozzarella mixture over the pasta and top with another layer of meat sauce. IMG_3196Repeat until you almost reach the top of the baking dish. IMG_3195End with a meat layer and sprinkle the mozzarella that you set aside over the top. If you have any left over ricotta mixture, dot it along the top and sprinkle parmesan over the top.IMG_3197
  4. Bake for 25 minutes. Let it cool for 15 minutes and enjoy!

This was a delicious lasagna. I apologize for the horrible photo quality, I was using my iphone. I really need to get a proper camera. After eating the lasagna, Pat and I were stuffed. I definitely recommend this. If you have the time, then make the meat sauce from scratch, but I thought that this recipe would be more cooking friendly to those of us who can’t spend 3 or more hours on dinner. By all means, add your own spices. I feel like the lasagna meat sauce could have used more spices like oregano and basil, but with a limited spice cupboard, what can a college girl do? I might even add some vegetables into the meat sauce like zucchini or broccoli to up the health content of this recipe…

Well until then, Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

