Raspberry Jam

The treat on the right is an apricot gallete, which I tried for the first time. I'll post a recipe once I've figured out once missing from it...raspberry jam perhaps?

The treat on the right is an apricot gallete, which I tried for the first time. I’ll post a recipe once I’ve figured out once missing from it…raspberry jam perhaps?

I love jam. Well more specifically, I love raspberry jam. Slathered on a piece of toast with butter? Yes please! Maybe it’s just me, but today I learned that making your own jam is possibly the easiest thing to make in the whole world. Honestly. I’m being so totally serious right now. It took me maybe less than 30 minutes to make this jam. It’s that easy. Okay, so maybe preparation wise, it takes a little longer, but other than that it’s a cinch. Plus you only need 2 ingredients, a mason jar or two (or more depending on how much you make) and a large pot of boiling water. I unfortunately didn’t have a mason jar, but I had a carton of raspberries that were too sour to eat on their own, so I just made the jam.

So what are you waiting for? Let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-1 cup of raspberries
-1 cup of granulated sugar

To make jam, you just need a 1:1 ratio of fruit to sugar. If you want to use a pint of raspberries or blueberries or blackberries or strawberries, use a pint of sugar. Yep. You will be using a TON of sugar. Weeeeeeeee

Directions:

  1. In a large pot (one that will fit all of your mason jars and can comfortably have them fully submerged), boil water and drop in the lids and the jars to sterilize them. Keep them in the water for a good 20 to 30 minutes. Remove the jars from the water and dry them thoroughly.
  2. Meanwhile, pour the raspberries in a pot and crush them with a potato masher, a wooden spoon, a fork (just mash them). Add in the sugar and stir them together. Bring the mixture to a boil and continue stirring, scrap down the sides if you need to. Lower the heat to a simmer and let the mixture cook until the mixture can coat a metal spoon. The mixture should be thick, but still able to drip off the spoon. In other words, it should drip off very very slowly.
  3. Pour the mixture into the prepared jars, but don’t overfill! There should be at least 1/2 an inch between the level of jam and the top of the jar. Screw on the lids and put them back into the large pot. Pour more water (if necessary) so that thee jars are covered with water. Bring the water to a boil. Once the water is boiling, keep the jars in the pot for at least 5 minutes.
  4. Remove from the hot water onto paper towels, newspapers, or regular towels and let them cool for 24 hours.

See? Wasn’t that easy or rather doesn’t it sound easy? The processing (boiling the jars) is to get rid of any bacteria that may be in the jars that could potentially cause food poisoning. While some people may argue that it’s not necessary, I think it’s better to be safe than sorry. Because I didn’t have proper mason jars, I wasn’t exactly able to process the jam properly (the jar was too big for the largest pot Pat had). I did close the lid of the jar and put it in boiling water though. I’ll let you know if I get food poisoning or not. Hopefully, I won’t. Until then!

mmmm jam

mmmm jam

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

p.s Again, I’m so so so sorry about photo quality. I really really must get a nice camera soon.

3 thoughts on “Raspberry Jam

Leave a Reply

