Ice Cream Cake!

Whoaaa it’s almost August, where did the time go? And more importantly why haven’t I been posting regularly? Well because the first one isn’t so easy to respond to, I’ll just answer the second: I ave been let go from Sweet Revenge because they didn’t have much for me to do, but I have been applying to a ton of other internships and will be interning at T.E.A.L (Tell Every Amazing Lady) which is a non-profit volunteer organization to raise awareness and funding for Ovarian Cancer Research. Yay! I have also become a volunteer at Badass Brooklyn, a dog shelter, so hopefully there will be posts of homemade doggie treats in the future! But this post isn’t just about an update. It’s about ice cream pie!!! Which I made for our apartment warming party! We had our friends come in and paint beautiful canvases to decorate our bare walls! And of course eat food.

IMG_8664

So I know I made ice cream cake before, under frozen mocha pie, but I had an apartment warming party and since it’s kind of hot in NYC, I decided to make another ice cream pie! It’s very easy, so this post will be a short one. You can also easily customize it to satisfy your own tastes, for example use strawberry ice cream instead of chocolate and coffee, so I hope you enjoy this very brief post!

Let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-1 package of oreos or chocolate wafer cookies (I just scoop out the filling in oreos and use the cookie parts)
-1 pint ice cream flavor of your choice (here I used coffee and chocolate)
-about 1 stick unsalted butter
Optional:
-raspberries (or strawberries/blueberries/etc.)
-chocolate covered nibs

Directions:

  1. Crush the chocolate cookies in a food processor or in a ziplock bag (use a rolling pin/heavy object) and pour into a mixing bowl. Add in the melted butter. I used a whole pack of oreos, so I used a whole stick of butter. Generally add in enough butter to make the mixture the consistency of wet sand. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Press the mixture into a spring form pan using a measuring cup to press it up the sides or a glass. Make sure the mixture is spread evenly. Bake in the oven for 8 to 10 minutes. Let it cool.
  3. Meanwhile take out the ice cream (if you’re doing two flavors, just take out the first flavor) from the freezer and let it melt a bit. Once the crust is cool, spread the ice cream evenly onto the cake. If you want layers of ice cream, layer on the first flavor of ice cream, and place the spring form pan into the freezer until the ice cream has re-frozen. Repeat with the other flavors of ice cream.

    Layers of flavors!

    Layers of flavors!

  4. Garnish the cake before your guests arrive. I put the raspberries on a few hour before they came and they froze, but it was still pretty delicious. To garnish the cake as I have, take your raspberries and finding ones that are similar in size, carefully place them along the outer edge of the cake. Take about six more and group them in the center. Then take your cocoa nibs and after sprinkling them over the center, try and make a neat border along the ring of raspberries.IMG_3482

Let it thaw for a bit before serving and voila! Ice cream cake for everyone!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

P.S Here’s a photo of my painting🙂

ADVENTURE TIME!

ADVENTURE TIME!

4 thoughts on “Ice Cream Cake!

Leave a Reply

