Salmon!

IMG_8660

So….strangely despite my heritage, I’m not a huge fan of fish. Which also means I’m not a huge fan of sushi *cringe* sorry. I’m sure y’all are all probably gasping and thinking but sushi is such a Japanese cuisine and you’re Japanese so how could you be NOT a fan of sushi. Trust me, my mom has even asked if I was truly Japanese. I’m just not a fan of the raw. But I do like cooked fish or rather, several kinds. So a few nights ago, I got some Atlantic salmon and cooked it for dinner! Huzzah! We didn’t really feel like cooking a whole lot of sides considering that we are in the middle of a heat wave in NYC and well, using the oven in a AC-less apartment equals cooked dinner and chefs. But it was still delicious!

So let’s get cooking!

Ingredients:

-1 salmon
-1/4 and 2 tbsp cup soy sauce
-1/2 cup olive oil
-4 tsp ginger
-2 tbsp honey
-1 clove garlic, diced
-salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Season the salmon with salt, pepper, garlic and 2 tsp of ginger. Pour 1/4 cup of soy sauce and the olive oil and let the salmon marinate in it for a few minutes.Β Meanwhile make the honey glaze. Β Mix together the honey, the rest of the ginger, and 2 tbsp of soy sauce.
  2. Place the salmon skin side down in a baking dish and pour the marinade over it. Spread the glaze over the salmon and bake in the oven for 12 to 15 minutes.Β IMG_8661

Now you can definitely add some lemon wedges or lemon juice to this. My room mate is just allergic to citrus so we omitted it. Enjoy!

Hugs and puppies!
Mimi

2 thoughts on “Salmon!

  1. Mimi, When I was stationed in Japan for my job, on a TV program I heard that 20% of Japanese do not like raw fish, contrary to the belief that all Japanese are raw fish eaters. Of that, many don’t like seafood at all. I am like you I am not much of a raw fish eater and eat very little seafood. Having said that, this Salmon dish you made looks very good!πŸ˜›

    • Ahahah thanks Fae!
      I do like shellfish though, I’m not sure why I like the shellfish (shrimp, mussels, crabs, lobster, scallops) but not the fish. Oh well :p

Leave a Reply

