Chicken Avocado Enchiladas

DSC_8195

So last night, I made Chicken Avocado Enchiladas. Oh my goodness they were so yummy! I even made the enchilada sauce myself! I found the recipe from a facebook post that Pat’s mom had shared. Huh, never knew facebook can be inspiring :p just kidding, facebook’s awesome. Anyway I found this recipe and I was dying to try it out, so we did and it was amazing. Not to mention pretty easy. I added a few veggies to make it a little more healthy, but it still tasted great. Honestly, enchiladas are the best way to sneak in veggies. Those and chicken pot pies and such. But I digress. Let’s go make some enchiladas!

Ingredients:

Enchiladas
-4 to 5 chicken breasts (not whole ones. They cook faster if they aren’t whole)
-paprika, salt and pepper
-1 package (the recipe called for 2 cups, but I like my cheese) Mexican blended cheese
-3 avocados, diced
-1 green pepper, diced
-2 tomatoes, diced (I used a box of cherry tomatoes, quartered)
-Sour cream
-10 whole wheat tortillas
Enchilada sauce
-1 tbsp butter
-3 cloves garlic, minced/diced (cut really small)
-1 tbsp flour
-1 cup chicken stock
-1/4 tsp ground black pepper
-1/4 tsp salt
-1 cup mild or medium salsa verde (we used regular salsa)
-1/2 cup sour cream

Directions:

  1. In medium sauce pan, sauté the garlic in butter for about 1 minute on medium high heat. Stir in flour let it cook for about 2 more minutes.
  2.  Next stir in the chicken broth, salt, pepper and bring to a simmer. After it begins to thicken, remove from heat and stir in the sour cream and salsa until well incorporated. Set aside.
  3. Sprinkle the paprika, salt and pepper over the chicken breasts and cook. Prepare the avocados, green pepper, tomatoes and set aside. Cut the chicken into strips. Prepare a baking dish with nonstick spray. Add enough sauce to evenly cover the bottom of the pan.
  4. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F
  5. Lay out a tortilla and smear sour cream over the bottom edge (the edge of the tortilla nearest to you). Add chicken, avocado, pepper, tomato and shredded cheese over the sour cream. I recommend bringing the bottom edge of the tortilla over the filling, folding in the sides and then rolling it over (towards the upper edge of the tortilla). Then place the tortilla seam-side down and repeat until the pan is full. If the seams won’t stay closed, I suggest using the sour cream as a “glue” to hold it closed. Repeat with the remaining tortillas.DSC_8192
  6.  Pour the remaining sauce over the enchiladas. Cover with the rest of the cheese and bake for about 20 minutes or until cheese is bubbling, melted and just oozing deliciousness.DSC_8198

What’s great about this recipe is that it makes roughly 10 enchiladas. So, being as I cooked it for just me and Pat, his room mates were out, we were able to have leftovers for lunch. I’m not sure how long they’d last if you froze them for another time, but if you do end up freezing them, I recommend you eat it ASAP. Anyway, I thought that this recipe was absolutely delicious and it was really pretty easy to put together. True it may have taken a little while, but I can definitely say that they were ready to eat within an hour. Not to mention, I suppose if you didn’t add the extra veggies, it would cut down on prep time, but why would you do that? This recipe can easily feed 4 people and I’m pretty sure it’s easily doubled if you want to make it for more people.

DSC_8205

Hugs and puppies!
Mimi

P.S can I just say, these photos are amazing because Pat took them. He’s my photographer and I pay him with noms. I should just get him to take all my photos because they look AMAZING.

2 thoughts on “Chicken Avocado Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

