Chocolate Slice ‘n bakes

Screen Shot 2014-12-20 at 11.00.34 PM

I finally got a few new cookbooks and I’ve been dying to try all of the recipes. I’ve been flipping through them and drooling over all the recipes. Unfortunately, I’m broke so choosing a recipe where I already had the ingredients was a little hard. Luckily in my Afternoon Tea Collection cookbook, I found the perfect recipe! Slice and bakes. These are probably the easiest cookies you will ever make and to make it even better? This recipe makes around 50 cookies. Yup. 50. Oh I haven’t made slice and bakes in what seems like a long time. These were the perfect cookies to make the night before and after school, pop into the oven. Funnily enough, my sister and I could never wait so we always baked them the moment we made them. The slice and bakes in this book were pretty plain and since I was making them for some friends, I decided to make them chocolate. Because yes, I am a choco-holic and well sometimes I just have to tweak some recipes. Though note to self: maybe stop baking with so much chocolate and try and branch out. Anyway, these cookies were so delicious we couldn’t stop eating them and what’s even better? You probably have these ingredients in your kitchen or pantry or baking cupboard.

So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-2 1/4 cups AP flour
-8 ounces (1 cup) unsalted butter, softened
-1 cup powdered sugar
-3 to 4 tbsp cocoa powder
Optional
-raw sugar/decorating sugar

Directions:

  1. Cream the butter and sugar until light-colored and smooth. Add in the flour and the cocoa powder in batches. The recipe says to sift the flour. I tried this recipe twice, the first time I sifted it and the second time I didn’t. The outcome? Either way these cookies come out fine.
  2. Once the dry ingredients are incorporated, divide the dough into two. Roll the dough into a log. The book says about 10 cm, but I just went with whatever size cookies I wanted. I personally think these would be cute as bite sized cookies so mine were a little smaller than 10 cm. Repeat with the other part of the dough. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  3. Place the dog logs into the fridge for 30 minutes or until firm. Don’t put them in the freezer because (and I speak from experience) the dough becomes crumbly and it crumbles as you slice it. Slice the dough logs and arrange the cookies on a baking sheets. These don’t expand much, so don’t worry about leaving a lot of space between each cookie. To make these cookies look less plain, I rolled the edges in raw sugar (though I think decorating sugar may have been better) and baked them.
  4. Bake for 10 minutes. Once out of the oven, let the cookies cool a bit. They will crumble apart if you try to move them too soon. They will become crisper as they cool.

So these cookies were absolutely delicious. A few minutes out of the oven, they kind of melt in your mouth and are just amazing. But they also taste amazing after they’ve cooled. They’re crisp without being too crispy and they do melt in your mouth a bit. I think it’s because they’re made with just butter, sugar and flour.  I’m dying to try this using real bakers chocolate because I feel that it’ll give it a better chocolate-y kick. I’ll let you know! Also I think these would be great to make with kids because a) they’re super easy b) they’re super quick and c)they’re easy to customize. You can easily omit the chocolate and add rainbow sprinkles or something to make them more fun! Not to mention if you cut them thin enough, you could sandwich nutella between two and make cookie sandwiches! Or even mini-ice cream sandwiches. The possibilities are endless!

Screen Shot 2014-12-09 at 12.02.24 AM

Here you see from top left to right: Jasmine, plain, and peppermint Bottom left to right: chocolate, almond, and green tea!

 

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Slice ‘n bakes

  1. Hi Mimi, Buttery chocolate slice n bake! Yummy!
    BTW, I am looking for a good amaretti cookie recipe (the kind that cracks on the top and with no almond essence). Do you have one or can you direct me to a recipe?

Leave a Reply

