Wonder if I gave an Oreo….

Screen Shot 2015-07-05 at 2.14.46 PM

So inspired by this adorable oreo commercial, I decided it was time to make homemade oreos of my own. To avoid copyright infringement risks, we shall call them Miyoreos (see what I did there? Because my full name is Miyori, which kind of sounds like the beginning of oreos). Anyway, it was my friend’s birthday and I knew that I wanted to bake her something I just wasn’t sure what. And then while I was at the Mitsuwa Summer Festival, I came across this oreos video with Owl City (I love owl city) and I knew that I wanted to make oreos. So I made them! They were actually quite easy and I got the recipe from The Food Network. But again,  I tweaked the recipe a bit because I didn’t have all the ingredients.

Screen Shot 2015-07-05 at 2.14.33 PM

So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-10 ounces melted chocolate
-1 1/2 cups AP Flour
-1 sticks unsalted butter
-3/4 cup granulated sugar
-2 large eggs
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-1/4 tsp salt
Filling:
-2 sticks unsalted butter, softened (the recipe called for 1 stick of butter and half a cup of shortening. I prefer not to use shortening.)
-3 cups powdered sugar
-1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Cream together the butter and the sugar until well combined. Add in the eggs one at a time, mixing to blend in between each addition. Add in the vanilla. If you’re using melted chocolate, add it now, but make sure that the chocolate has cooled a bit before adding it. Once that’s incorporated, add in the dry ingredients. The recipe says to sift the dry ingredients, but I didn’t and it came out fine.
  2. The recipe then says to divide the dough into two portions, roll them out to about 1/4 inch thick and refrigerate before cutting out the circles. Since my melted chocolate made the dough a tad more sticky (gooey? fudge-y?), I simply placed the whole bowl in the fridge for a few minutes and then rolled them into little spheres, flattening them into circles. You don’t have to leave too much room seeings as they don’t spread out too much. But I’d say give it about 1 inch between each cookie.
  3.  Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. While the oven is preheating, refrigerate your dough.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes or until the outer edgers are darker than the center.
  5. Mix together the filling. Cream the butter and mix in the vanilla. Add in the powdered sugar until you reach the desired consistency.
  6. Once the cookies have cooled, pair them off and flip one over. Pour the filling into a bag and pipe the filling on the bottom cookie (flipped cookie). Gently press the top cookie down on the filling. I found it easy to pipe a small mound on the bottom cookie away from the edge (so that it doesn’t spill over) and don’t worry if you don’t have a piping bag. Just use a ziplock bag and cut off a corner. 
  7. Refrigerate the cookies after you pipe the filling in them so that the buttercream will harden and really taste like an oreo filling.

These were absolutely so fun to make and everyone loved them! What I liked was you got to control how much filling you get in each cookie. So for example, someone like me, who hates the filling (though I did like this one) can eat the cookies plain or with the teeniest but of filling, but if you want to make them “double-stuffed” you totally can. These were delicious and I’ll definitely be making them again sometime!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

2 thoughts on “Wonder if I gave an Oreo….

  1. Mimi, Your miyoreos look VERY good! Hoshii’na~…😛
    Going through internet I came up with an almond recipe, and after baking/trial of 3 times, I got hang of it and will post it tonight at midnight SF time! It was difficult!😉

Leave a Reply

