Buttermilk Pancakes

 

Screen Shot 2015-02-17 at 6.52.43 PM

These are just your regular pancakes, no chocolate chips or blueberries or anything. Super easy to make (it literally takes like 10 minutes to whip up the batter and then about less than a minute on each side to cook!) I’m sure you all have pancake recipes and I have done chocolate chip pancakes before, but I just thought these would be a quick and easy post to share.

Let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-1 cup AP flour
-1 tsp baking powder
-2 tbsp sugar
-3/4 cup buttermilk (you can make your own by mixing about 1 tsp or so of vinegar or lemon juice with 3/4 cup regular milk)
-1 tbsp melted butter
-1 egg
-a pinch of salt

Directions:

  1. Combine all the ingredients into a large mixing bowl and mix until all the lumps disappear. Once there are no lumps, STOP mixing. You never want to overmix pancake batter or else it’ll get very dense and not fluffy.
  2. Using a non-stick pan or a regular pan with non-stick spray or butter, pour (I like to use about 1/4 a cup of batter) into a preheated pan. The batter should sizzle once it hits.
  3. Now I use a little trick that helps me know when it’s time to flip the pancake instead of timing it. There will be little bubbles on the surface of the batter. Once the bubbles around the edges of the cake start to pop, you know that the cake is ready to flip. Flip and cook until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean (about 1-2 minutes)
  4. Top with a pat of butter and syrup or my personal favorite, nutella and powdered sugar and sliced bananas and you’re good to go!

Ta-da! I like these because they can go from sweet to savory in a blink of an eye. I say savory because I’m dying to make bacon pancakes. I’ll let you know how it goes as soon as I get around to making them!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

3 thoughts on “Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Bacon Pancakes | Les Saveurs De Mimi

Leave a Reply

