Nutella Crepes

DSC_8223

Happy Tuesday! Today is the first day of my senior year. In other words, it’s my last first day of school. Wow. Where did the time go? I swear I was a freshman just last May. It’s kind of bittersweet for me. I love school (in a sense) and I love the vacations. I was a little mopey because yesterday was technically my “last” day of summer vacation and it’s still hard to comprehend that I will never have summer vacation again. Well at least not to the extent of college/school summers. Oh 3 month vacation breaks I will miss you so much. But wait, I’m totally off track. So to sweeten up my sadness, I made crepes. Nutella crepes and boy were they yummy!

Let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-1 cup AP flour (we used self-rising, in that case, increase the amount of milk by 2 or 3 tbsp)
-2 eggs
-1/2 cup water
-3/4 cup milk
-3 tbsp melted butter
-2 1/2 tbsp granulated sugar
-1 tbsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. In a large mixing bowl, combine all the ingredients (make sure the butter is cool) and stir until there are no more lumps. Now you can let the batter rest for an hour so that the bubbles are gone, but I personally don’t find anything wrong with using the batter right away.
  2. Heat a non stick pan and coat with butter (if you have a really good non-stick pan, you won’t need the butter). Pour in enough batter to lightly coat the bottom of the pan. I usually pour until the circle of batter almost covers the pan and then swirl the batter around. Cook for a minute or until the edges are a nice golden brown. Use a rubber spatula to check the browning of the crepe and then flip. Cook for another 30 seconds or until the other side has browned as well. Note when I say brown I don’t mean the entire crepe, the browning should occur in a spider-y lines.
  3. Lay them out on a plate or cutting board and top with your favorite toppings. I would go with nutella and bananas or butter and sugar. Fold the sides into the center and dust with powdered sugar.

Any leftover crepes should be carefully stacked in resealable plastic bags (think ziploc) and placed in the freezer. To reheat, let them thaw in a stack a bit before attempting to peel them apart. If you want, you can also make a cake out of them by making a custard and sandwiching thin layers of it between the crepes (I’ll have to make a post about that soon!) And that’s it! A guaranteed awesome breakfast! Don’t forget to add fruits if you want. For savory crepes remove the sugar, add salt and pepper and other spices to taste!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

4 thoughts on “Nutella Crepes

Leave a Reply

