Cronuts: What’s all the fuss about?

IMG_3731

If any of you find yourselves walking down Thompson street early in the morning (say about 6 am on weekdays or 7 am on weekends), you’ll be baffled to see a long line snaking around the corner of Vesuvio park and onto spring street. Believe it or not, these people are waiting to get into Dominique Ansel Bakery, which will open at 8 am on weekdays and 9 am on weekends. So why are are these people waiting in line to get into a bakery you ask? Simple. They’re just waiting in line for Cronuts. The Cronut, for those of you who don’t know, is a pastry hybrid of half croissant and half doughnut, by Chef Dominique Ansel. Each month, there is a new and different Cronut flavor and this month’s cronut was Fig Mascarpone. There is only one flavor of cronut and unless you preorder your cronuts (there’s a 2 week waitlist!?) or e-mail the shop for a large order you can only buy 2 per person. Each Cronut is $5 and they only make a few batches per day, numbers vary because each Cronut is handmade and there are baking casualties.

IMG_3734

This morning, I finally decided that it was time to see what the fuss was all about when it came to the Cronut, and why people were waiting 2.5 hours in line for one. It also helped that my friend from home, Cat, was visiting and she wanted to try a Cronut. So we woke up, albeit a little groggily, at 6 AM, grabbed the 6 train down to spring street and wandered over to the bakery where a a large line of at least 50 people were already waiting. By this time it was only about 7:15 AM. Luckily, Cat and I came prepared with books that we bought at Strand. I had Cooking for Mr. Latte and I started reading and finished it before I even got into the store.

Finally got my Cronut!

Finally got my Cronut!

We finally got to order at around 10:30 AM, making our quest for Cronuts a total of at least 3 hours long. And to tell you the truth, while I’m very glad that I got to try it, it wasn’t really worth the 3+ hour wait. I think though, this is because I’m not a huge fan of figs…The fig jam was altogether too sweet for my taste, but he mascarpone cream filling was divine. It really toned down the sweetness of the Cronut and balanced really well with the fig jam, but the ratio of mascarpone cream to fig jam was a little off and there was more jam than I’d like. My Cronut did fall apart, the bottom half fell off in my hand (the layers just fell off). However it was still just as delicious. In other words, it got pretty messy.

IMG_3737

However Dominique Ansel Bakery isn’t just a Cronut bakery, they have other lovely tasting things. I didn’t get to try to frozen s’mores or the DKA, but I assume I don’t have to wait in line for that. In that case, I’ll let you know once I check it out. I personally enjoyed the Magic Soufflé better. This was a beautiful concoction of orange blossom brioche (wonderfully fluffy and light due to the fact that it was made to order) and in the center is a mousse-like chocolate center. Now I may be biased because it does have chocolate, but this one was fluffy, light and perfectly sweet. I honestly think it was much better than the Cronut.

IMG_3743

IMG_3744

Overall I’m a little disappointed with the Cronut, but maybe it was just the flavor of the month that threw me off. I think I would have been satisfied with a plain Cronut, just the sugar coating and the glaze on top or maybe the chocolate one. The Cronut was scrumptious and I’d definitely try them again, I just don’t think it’s worth waiting hours in line for. If you get a chance to try to Cronut (pre-order/large order/the popularity of the Cronut lulling) without having to wait in line for 2+ hours, than by all means, I think you should definitely try it. I’d love to see what kind of flavors Dominique Ansel will come up with next, you just won’t find me in line at 6 AM for the Cronuts though.

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Ps sorry the photos aren’t too great, I had to use my phone again. Pat was at home sleeping🙂

2 thoughts on “Cronuts: What’s all the fuss about?

Leave a Reply

