Chocolate Layer Cake

IMG_3794

Again, apologies for terrible photos. I really really need to save up for a DSLR camera…

So it was my mom’s birthday on thursday and because she was in NYC, I decided to bake her a cake. Now she’s a total chocoholic like me, so I decided it was best to try my hand at a chocolate layer cake. Frosting’s not her thing, it’s too sweet for her, so instead of sandwiching the layers with frosting, I whipped some chocolate ganache into frosting and used that instead. I got the recipe for the cake at Ming makes Cupcakes, and tweaked it from there. After I frosted the whole cake, I covered the sides of the cake with some cake crumbs (courtesy of cake leveling) and then garnished with raspberries (my mom likes raspberries too). It came out delicious and it fed all 13 people at the dinner. We went to Wolfgang’s steakhouse for dinner and let me tell you, it has, hands down, the best steak I have ever eaten in NYC. A bit pricey, but definitely worth it!

IMG_3795

But you’re here to see my cake recipe, so let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-2 cups flour
-1 cup unsweeted cocoa powder
-1 tsp baking soda
-1 tsp baking powder
-1/2 tsp salt
-1 cup butter
-1 1/4 cups sugar (I reduced the sugar and used 1 cup granulated and 1/4 cup brown sugar. The brown sugar keeps the cake more moist and I’m not too huge a fan of overly sweet cakes so…)
-2 tsp vanilla extract
-1 1/2 cup milk
-2 eggs
 
Frosting:
-1 cup heavy cream
-1 bag of chocolate chips 
Optional:
-Raspberries

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to about 300 degrees (If you have a cake leveler and don’t mind leveling it, bake it at 350, I just found out that if you bake a cake at a lower temperature and for longer, the cake comes out without a domed top)
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine all the dry ingredients and set aside. In a separate large mixing bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until well combined. Add in the eggs and the vanilla and mix well.
  3. Add in the milk and the dry ingredients alternately and in small batches. I find that it works to add in about 1/3 cup of the dry mixture, mix it a little and then pour in some milk and then mix until well combined and then repeat until it’s all incorporated.
  4. Spray two 9 inch cake pans with non-stick spray and line with parchment paper (I had one so I just reused the cake pan). Pour in half the batter into each of the cake pans and gently tap it on the counter or table to get rid of bubbles and to evenly distribute the batter.
  5. Bake for 45 to 55 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean (you can also use a tooth pick). If you’re baking at 350 degrees, bake for about 40 minutes.
  6. While the cake is baking, make the ganache frosting.
  7. Heat the heavy cream until it starts to boil and pour the chocolate chips into a glass mixing bowl (or any other heatproof mixing bowl).
  8. Pour the hot cream into the bowl over the chocolate and let it sit for about 5 minutes. Gently stir the chocolate with a whisk until the heavy cream and the chocolate are well combines and let cool.
  9. Once the cakes are done baking, gently flip them out of the cake pan and set on a wire cooling rack to cool. I also found out that it’s easier to cut into if you place them in the freezer for about 20 to 30 minutes. They firm up and they aren’t so crumbly.
  10. Once the cakes and ganache are cooled, whip the ganache into a frosting (I suggest using a electric mixer). Dab a mixture of vanilla and water all over the cake layers so that they don’t dry out.
  11. Use some of the chocolate ganache frosting to sandwich the layers together and after adding a crumb coat to the sides and top, add the final layer of frosting and garnish the cake as you wish. I garnished mine with raspberries and leftover cake crumbs

It takes a bit of time, but this cake is definitely worth it. My mom loved it and my roomie requested that I make this for her birthday (which is in december). It’s pretty chocolate-y as all cakes go, but if you love chocolate than I think this cake is perfect for you!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

