Chicken Quesadillas

Sorry for the bad quality, I was too hungry to try and take a decent photo :/

Sorry for the bad quality, I was too hungry to try and take a decent photo:/

So last tuesday, after a good work out (I know! Pat finally managed to get me to the gym), I made chicken quesadillas. Sorry I haven’t posted so much, what with midterms coming up and all sorts of work, I’m pretty busy! I was going to make chicken avocado enchiladas but I didn’t have chicken stock to make the enchilada sauce and instead went to plan B: quesadillas. It was pretty delicious and I was able to have leftovers for lunch today. I love making recipes in bulk so I can have lunch the next day. I mean who has the time to wake up and make lunch, unless of course it’s a sandwich. I have so much respect for people who make lunch for their children before school (especially my mom and dad). Funnily, Pat left his camera at my apartment so I decided it was time to try my hand at food photography and laughed. All the photos came out blurry, I guess I may need to get Pat to teach me about that too.

Well let’s get started!

 Ingredients:

-4 boneless chicken breasts
-1 tbsp salt and pepper
-1 tsp garlic powder, onion powder, paprika
-1 cup shredded mixed cheese
-1/2 cup black beans
-1 tomato (diced)
-Lettuce, sliced thin
-frozen peas
-4 tortillas
-Salsa and cream cheese 
 
Optional:
-1 avocado (diced)
-bell peppers (diced)

Directions:

  1. Season your chicken with the spices and cook until fully cooked. I found that by keeping the heat low and letting your chicken cook for about 3 to 4 minutes a side really makes the chicken moist. Once the chicken is cooked, let it rest on the cutting board while you prep the rest of your ingredients.
  2. Slice the lettuce leaves into thin strips. I recommend rolling the leaves up into a bundle and then thinly slicing it. Dice the tomato and heat up your beans (I just use the ones in the can, season it with salt, pepper and garlic).
  3. Once the chicken has rested, cut the chicken into bit sized pieces. Set aside.
  4. In a large pan (big enough to fit your tortilla), get ready to assemble the quesadilla. Do not turn on the heat. I find that if you do that, the tortilla burns before all the cheese melts. So don’t turn on the heat.
  5. Sprinkle 1/4 of the cheese on the tortilla, scatter some pieces of chicken on top and then add your other toppings (beans, tomatoes, lettuce, avocado, bell peppers, etc), sprinkle with some more cheese and top with another tortilla.
  6. Turn on the heat to medium high and place a lid on the pan. This is important because it traps the warmth into the pan and helps melt the cheese faster. This way when the tortilla is nicely browned and you need to flip it over, you won’t have a huge mess because the cheese is properly melted and holds everything together. The cheese is the glue here folks.
  7. Once the opposite side is browned, remove from the pan and cut into slices. Repeat with the second quesadilla.
  8. Serve with salsa and sour cream

This was without a doubt a very good quesadilla. It took 30 minutes, but it also gave me  3 meals (I had enough for lunch and dinner the next day) and they were so yummy! My roomie loved the way the chicken was cooked and my friends said it smelled delicious when I was eating it for lunch. Definitely going to make these again and they’re definitely satisfying!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

