Apple Crumble in an Apple

photo 1

Hello! It’s been quite a while and I apologize. I’ve been cooking and baking, just not new recipes😦 I know, I know, I’ll do better! I’m just a tad busy despite the Columbus Day Holiday with midterms, homework, work, lots of neglected chores and other stuff. Anyway, here’s a recipe for you which I’m sure you’ll love! Apple pie in an apple! Fall is always about the apples and apples are amazing! Except when you’re practically drowning in apples due to your weekly CSA. My room mates and I can’t keep up with all the apples that we get, so I decided to make something based on apples so that we wouldn’t be buried under all of them. I’ve always wanted to make apple pie within an apple and today seemed like the perfect day for it. It’s tuesday, our CSA arrives tomorrow and we still have SO MANY APPLES! Also since pie crust can be a finicky little thing, I decided to make crumble instead. Best idea ever.

So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-6 apples
-2 tsp cinnamon
-2 tsp brown sugar
-1 tsp nutmeg
-2 tbsp butter
Optional
-lemon juice
Crumble
-4 tbsp butter
-1/2 cup flour
-3 tbsp brown sugar
 

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Make the crumble. Mix together the flour and sugar and then add in the butter, breaking it up between your fingers until it forms pea sized lumps and everything is incorporated.
  3. Sprinkle the crumble over a sheet tray and bake until golden brown (about 15 to 20 minutes)
  4. Meanwhile hollow out four of the apples, making sure to remove the seeds and place them in a medium sized mixing bowl. I find using a spoon is much easier than a knife (less accidents). Don’t toss out the hollowed out part of the apple.
  5. Dice the rest of the apples into bite sized pieces.
  6. Toss with sugar and spices and set aside.
  7. In a pan, melt the butter and once it starts bubbling, add in the apple pieces and cook until tender. Remove from the pan and set aside.
  8. Now add the cooked apple pieces into your apple bowl and top with the crumble. Top with homemade whipped cream or ice cream and you’re done!

photo 3

If you want to bake your apples, that’s totally possible you’ll just have a longer baking time. If that is the case, don’t bake the crumble or the apple pieces before hand. Add the apple pieces to the apple bowl, top with raw crumble and place the apples in a rimmed sheet pan. Add some water, cover with foil and bake for 20 minutes. Remove the foil and bake for an additional 20 minutes or until the crumble is nice and golden. I just prefer my apples to be crispy and not mushy, so I decided not to bake the apple🙂 But it’s all up to you!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

2 thoughts on “Apple Crumble in an Apple

Leave a Reply

