Welsh Rarebit

I hope everyone had a wonderful turkey day! I know I did! I went to a friend friendsgivings because well, I can’t go home and no one celebrates it in Japan for obvious reasons (at least not if you’re Japanese). I made lots of chocolate cream pies, which were great because everyone loved them! You can find the recipe here. Trust me, if you make this, everyone will love you. You can also make a super easy pumpkin pie! I just used a classic recipe from bon appétit. I would write a post about it, but I don’t have photos (everyone ate it) and well, it would have just been the same recipe as the one I linked it to :p

Anyhoo, after all that thanksgiving grub, I made Welsh Rarebit. I know, I know! It looks like rabbit and it does mean rabbit, but there were absolutely no rabbit harmed in this recipe. I solemnly swear it! This is basically your classic cheesy toast. I was obsessed with making it as a little girl because a) it was cheese and b) because it was super easy. It’s simply a mixture of cheese, spices and milk, topped on butter toast and broiled until nice and melty. If that doesn’t sound good, I have absolutely no idea what does. Now you can use whatever cheese you like, but I think it’ll probably taste good with a creamy gouda or a sharp gruyere.

Let’s get started!

Ingredients:
-1 cup of cheese (Shredded or crumbled)
-1 tbsp dijon mustard
-A dash or two of milk
-salt, pepper and paprika to taste
-2 slices of bread
-butter

Directions:

  1. Mix together the cheese, milk, mustard and spices in a bowl. Try and mush together the cheese into a paste
  2. Butter your slices of bread
  3. Top with the cheese mixture, you want to also pour the milk parts onto the bread so it soaks it up!
  4. Place in the broiler until the cheese is nice and melted

And that’s it! I would have photos, but unfortunately Pat and I scarfed them down before we even thought to take a photo. Oops?

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

 

Leave a Reply

