Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yay for late night baking and crappy iphone quality photos :p

Yay for late night baking and crappy iphone quality photos :p

I thought I made a post for these cookies already, since I’d made them multiple times. However, it seems to have slipped my mind. Anyway oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are without a doubt, hands down my favorite cookie. Why? Because they have the nutty oats that add a nice texture and depth to the cookie. Paired with the smooth, sweetness of the chocolate, these should just be called heaven cookies because they’re just that good. Also I like to think the oats make it somewhat healthier. To up the healthy factor, I’ve added flax seeds. The flax seeds add another salty, nutty taste to the cookies, which I think is amazing because salty and sweet are the best combinations. Salted caramels anyone? Is there any other way I can sell these cookies? Oh yes, I gave them to a friend as a gift after her show opened and she raved about it afterwards. As did her cast who she generously shared the cookies with. Apparently they wanted to know who this Mimi person is. Now I’m just bragging, whoopsies. But honestly? I think these are the best things I’ve ever baked and I’ve baked a lot of things. So let’s get started!

Ingredients:

-1/2 stick of butter (softened)
-2/3 cup brown sugar
-1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
-3/4 cup AP flour
-1 1/2 cup rolled oats
-1/4 tsp baking soda
-1/2 tsp baking powder
-1/2 tsp expresso powder
-1 or 2 cups chocolate chips 
Optional
-3 tbsp flax seeds

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350° F.
  2. Cream together the butter and sugar until nice and fluffy. Add in the egg and vanilla extract and mix to combine.
  3. Add in the baking soda, baking powder, expresso powder, flour and rolled oats. Mix to combine.
  4. Fold in the chocolate chips
  5. On a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or sprayed with nonstick spray, drop balls of the cookie dough (either using a cookie scoop or your hands) in even rows of 3. You should be able to fit at least 12.
  6. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until the edges are golden brown. Let the cookies cool before transferring them off the baking sheets (they will crumble)

And you’re done! I’m really tempted to add more ingredients to the recipe (i.e. crushed candy canes or nuts), so I’ll let you know if I do make them and it’s successful! But for now, it’s back to the study grind (bleh)

Until then, hugs and puppies!

Mimi

Leave a Reply

