Bacon Doughtnuts and Doughnut Glaze

DSC_0937

Doughnuts are delicious. I love doughnuts and a few weeks ago I made my own doughnuts. It was a lot easier than I anticipated. Now this is a good and a bad thing. It’s a good thing because now I can have doughnuts whenever I want! It’s a bad thing because now I can have doughnuts whenever I want. What a predicament! Good thing I have friends who are more than willing to help me eat them. So yesterday, I was in a friend’s play as an architecture human (aka an extra). This was wonderful and fun and completely amazing. It was even better because I had a whole cast as my guinea pig taste testers. So I made doughnuts again. But this time, with bacon fat! It tasted delicious, you actually can’t taste the bacon at all.

So to make these, I simply followed the recipe from the doughnuts I made last time. I just substituted the vegetable shortening with bacon fat. If you’re a vegetarian, have no fear butter works as a wonderful substitute as well. You can find the recipe here. It’s honestly very very simple to make. It takes about 10 minutes to put the dough together, 30 minutes for the dough to rest and then 10 to 20 minutes to roll out, cut and fry the dough.

DSC_0933

Now last time I simply rolled the doughnuts in butter and cinnamon sugar. This time I made chocolate ganache and coffee glaze as well. It was really good. So here’s how to do it!

 

Chocolate ganache

I’m going to tell you, this is the easiest and tastiest (unless you hate chocolate, in which case I’m sorry) topping for any baked good. Cupcakes, cakes, and doughnuts! But now I’m just rambling, for ganache here’s what you’re going to need:

-1/2 heavy cream 
-1 to 2 cups chocolate chips (semisweet, dark chocolate, white or milk, whatever your little heart desires)

Directions:

  1. Microwave the heavy cream for about 1 to 2 minutes. It should be very hot.
  2. Pour in the chocolate chips and let them sit for a minute. Stir with a rubber spatula until the chocolate and the cream are well combined.

Coffee Glaze:

This glaze was delicious. A little sweet with a pleasant bitter kick. I’m definitely making this again. You’re going to need:

-1/2 cup heavy cream
-1 to 2 tsp instant coffee or espresso
-1 cup of powdered sugar
To adjust the sweetness and thickness of the glaze, add in 1/4 cup of powdered sugar at a time or a splash of heavy cream to achieve your desired consistency
  1. Microwave the heavy cream for a minute. Stir in the instant coffee, making sure there are no lumps.
  2. Sift in the powered sugar. You don’t have to sift it, but sifting results in absolutely no lumps, so it is worth it. Stir to combine

 

DSC_0939

Once the glazes are finished (I suggest making them while the doughnuts cool after you fry them), pick up the doughnut, dunk the top half and then flip the doughnut and set it on a wire rack for the glaze to cool. That’s all!

Hugs and puppies!

Mimi

 

One thought on “Bacon Doughtnuts and Doughnut Glaze

  1. Pingback: Apple Cider Doughnuts | Les Saveurs De Mimi

Leave a Reply

